Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: testing cable signal?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    17

    testing cable signal?

    i was wondering... how would i do that? (the topic)
    i keep hearing you guys talking about signal test and how it is...
    but how would i go about testing mine? or do i need a special tool to do that?

  2. #2
    Senior Member MosDef112's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Bronx, NY
    Posts
    1,364
    People test a coax cable signal by finding out how strong it is, and how much noise comes in with it. There's special, and very expensive tools, that cable operator technicians use to check your signal levels for this. Some cable modems also tell you basic signal strength level information, like your transmit/receive power levels, and what frequencies, or channels, your cable modem locks into to transmit data.
    OMARNYC.COM - My place on the web

  3. #3
    Regular Member damaged's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    361
    Why don't you tell us what type of modem you have...if it has a GUI, somebody here will be able to tell you how to access it.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    17
    hi guys okie...

    the modem that i have is the Tobisha PCX1100U

    hope someone can help me...
    i wanna see what's my transfer rates are w/ my current connection

  5. #5
    Regular Member damaged's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    361
    Sorry...no GUI on this one that you will be able to see.

    Besides, a GUI will not show you transfer rates. If you want to know your caps, call your cable company.

    For transfer rate tests, go to:

    http://www.dslreports.com/stest

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    17
    yea i called my cable company

    they said i'm capped at 2-3 or 3-5 MBps... and my up is like 386KBps... i'm not sure

    but they said my line to my house was only 1.5down and 51.6KBps up... so i don't know

  7. #7
    Certified SG Addict Indy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    25,600
    Blog Entries
    24
    More than likely, you're probably capped at 3 Mbit down and 384 Kbit up...not sure about the second set of numbers you gave other than that may be what your cable operator is telling you that you may expect to see realistically coming into the modem...
    With the computers I work on every day, every one of them is capped at 3 Mbit down and 128 Kbit up, but I typically don't see any faster than about 2 Mbit down...and that's pretty consistantly true throughout the system that I work in...
    ------
    “The most beautiful thing we can experience in life is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead: for his eyes are closed.” - Albert Einstein

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •