Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 50

Thread: Windows 8 how to set the congestion provider to ctcp

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    9

    Windows 8 how to set the congestion provider to ctcp

    Guys I've installed windows 8 and as usual I tried to optimize the tcp, the other setting from your guide work just fine but the congestion provider says that the syntax is wrong, i'm not a tcp or cmd expert could you kindly check this out for me?

    Here is a screenshot


  2. #2
    SG Enthusiast RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,762
    It only works with Windows Vista, 2008 & 7. XP x64 and 2003 can be tweaked by editing the registry.
    Last edited by RaisinCain; 08-09-12 at 03:52 PM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    9
    netsh int tcp show global lists the command so it must work in Windows 8 the problem is how to set it, there has to be a way to activate ctcp

  4. #4

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,427
    Windows 8 is not officially done or out yet.
    So I doubt Philip has invested a lot of time fiddling with it, knowing that code could change and whatever time he spent would have been wasted since he would have worked on a beta/pre release version.
    Supposedly the final version will be released to developers/partners on Aug 15 (a date which has not happened yet)

    But since Windows 7 came out....I've left it alone, default settings. Works great!
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    last i checked netsh was still in w8 but wasnt activated.maybe the latest version unlocked it,even if it is unlocked.we ll need to relearn netsh because ms changed the format(how to word command)but on a side note it is way more powerfull then before.on server side of things just enabling dctcp alone is gona be a huge feature.sadly for philip and all this means a new section will need to be added for w8 alone to show how to do netsh stuff but in window 8(ya it is a bit more complex and awkward)

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Windows 8 is not officially done or out yet.
    So I doubt Philip has invested a lot of time fiddling with it, knowing that code could change and whatever time he spent would have been wasted since he would have worked on a beta/pre release version.
    Supposedly the final version will be released to developers/partners on Aug 15 (a date which has not happened yet)

    But since Windows 7 came out....I've left it alone, default settings. Works great!
    windows 8 is officially done and has been on technet and MSDN since august 15.

  8. #8
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,427
    Quote Originally Posted by hclarkjr View Post
    windows 8 is officially done and has been on technet and MSDN since august 15.
    Uhm...yes....but do you care to look at the date of my reply? HmmmMMMM?
    And not officially released to the public until Oct 26th as of latest date.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Uhm...yes....but do you care to look at the date of my reply? HmmmMMMM?
    And not officially released to the public until Oct 26th as of latest date.
    oops, did not see date. and to me being on technet and MSDN is public anymore. maybe few years back that wasn't the case but now it is different, that is why MS had to change policy for technet as regards keys and such

  10. #10
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,427
    Yeah...been playing with the release versions since...man, last spring or winter. But I don't consider them fully baked until it's announced like it was recently, and not public until it's officially released to public.

    But like Windows 7...I still say "Leave it alone". Doesn't need tweaking like XP and prior.
    Just a tablet OS to me anyways...so zero interest....it won't hit much in the business area anyways...even that "N/Pro" version. Following Microsofts pattern of "every other" OS release being good, then bad, then good..then bad....Win8 will be the Vista of the upcoming year.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1
    tried setting this using the powershell command

    set-nettcpsetting -settingname custom -congestionprovider ctcp
    this gives the error " Property CongestionProvider is read-only "
    there has to be a way to enable this.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    9
    Did anyone figure out how to enable it?

  13. #13
    SG Enthusiast RaisinCain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,762
    There is no way to enable what you are looking for... PERIOD. Just leave it alone. There is no point in trying to change the setting.

  14. #14
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    8,302
    Blog Entries
    6
    Have you tried running command prompt as an administrator ? Only elevated command prompt would be able to change it.

  15. #15
    use this-netsh interface tcp set global congestionprovider=ctcp-worked for me on the run as administrator command prompt by right clicking command prompt and click run as administrator

  16. #16
    Junior Member dafmat71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Brussels
    Posts
    8
    For Win8:

    set supplemental congestionprovider=ctcp
    My dA: http://dafmat71.deviantart.com

  17. #17
    Hello, I know this is a old thread but since I have found a solution, I would like to share with you all who use Windows 8.... go here and read what user dwayned did to enable ctcp on W8 http://www.networkedmediatank.com/sh...992&pid=588255 .....I had to do it manually since the custom registry hack didn't work for me, but once I got it done and restarted I got a huge boost

    I also had to disable/enable other settings again after I enabled ctcp but this is how mine looks like now.
    Last edited by LucidRealm; 11-18-13 at 07:19 AM.

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    1
    Lucid, can you elaborate further on how you enabled it?

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by philbill View Post
    Lucid, can you elaborate further on how you enabled it?
    you have to read what user "dwayned" posted in that link in order to get a better understanding on how it is done. He says to save this code as a reg file to do it the easy way.. but since that wasn't working for me I went into the registry and manualy input the box code in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Nsi\{eb004a03-9b1a-11d4-9123-0050047759bc}\0

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Nsi\{eb004a03-9b1a-11d4-9123-0050047759bc}\0]
    "0200"=hex:00,00,00,00,00,00,01,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,02,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,​\
      00,00,00,ff,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,​\
      ff,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
    "1700"=hex:00,00,00,00,00,00,01,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,02,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,​\
      00,00,00,ff,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,​\
      ff,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    5
    Lucidrealm,

    "dwayned" reg file doesn't work in win 8.1 When adding the entry do I have to use new binary or string? Can you make a step by step guide on how you added it? There are so many choices on the type of entry. It could be binary, string dword, among others

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-01-12, 01:27 AM
  2. CTCP change did not work
    By gilloz in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-06-11, 06:15 PM
  3. Throttling or congestion?
    By Jason456 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-30-09, 07:46 PM
  4. Network Congestion!?
    By dan72588 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-09-08, 11:01 PM
  5. Q on Network Congestion and Sync
    By virtualj in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-19-01, 09:04 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •