Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Network Problems

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3

    Network Problems

    Hello I need some help if anyone could help that would be great. I have road runner internet and been having this problem as of late. See I own my own business and my shop is out back of my house. I have a wireless router in the house for home use. Coming out of my wireless router is my cat 5 that runs out the house underground to my shop for my shops network. This cable then goes in to a 5 port hub that brakes it to my two shop computers. Here is the problem I have been having every night when I close down and leave and then come back in the morning my shop is down. Sometimes its my main computer some times its the other and some times its both of them. I removed my firewall changed my port hub and I am still losing internet everyday only way to fix it some times is to reset the modem in the house. can anyone help me

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,326
    Perhaps the CAT5 running underground from the house to the shed out back is bad. Is it outdoor/ground rated cable? Run through a conduit for protection? Terminated properly? How long is this run?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3
    Its been under there for some time now I have it inside of a underground box to protect it

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,326
    How long is the run? Ethernet standard is 100 meters max (~330 feet)
    Any water get down in there? Or heavy moisture? Outside/underground rated cable?
    Lightening strikes into the ground?
    Damaged cable somewhere along the way?
    Re-terminate the ends?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3
    I think its only like a 100 ft cable. It has been hit by lighting before and fried the computer a long time ago. I also think its just a everyday cable being ran. If its the cable why would it work if i just bypass the 5 port hub right to my main box? also why would one go out and not the other every time I think only once has both been out? Could it be a ip config should I set a static Ip

Similar Threads

  1. Network Problems 3 pcs
    By razzlesuk in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-22-06, 02:40 PM
  2. Network Problems
    By Ashy in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-14-04, 06:09 AM
  3. Network Problems
    By mlwest in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-15-02, 04:42 PM
  4. Some odd network problems.
    By Grundelfish in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-07-01, 05:42 PM
  5. BAD NETWORK PROBLEMS
    By SP33D3MON in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-01, 07:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •