Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Comcast Business Class smc modem/ router connecting and setup instruction help needed

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1

    Comcast Business Class smc modem/ router connecting and setup instruction help needed

    [SIZE=5]Just upgraded my ISP to Comcast Business class they provided me a smc modem/router with 4 port on a back of the modem/router.. what i am trying to do is hookup my 4 business computers and my phones, tablets, etc with Belkin N300 router which I had disabled the DHCP and used it as Access point with IP 10.1.10.254 and Subnet mask to 255.255.255.0 on port 1 of smc modem/router so all my computer are having IP from smc modem/router it looks like 10.1.10.10, 11 , 12 -199 and so on and all my computer are using workgroup for networking and sharing files....


    Now my question is I want to let my customer/public/employee use wireless but I don't want my customer/public/employee see my business computers and shared files... can I add another Belkin router n150 and disable the DHCP and use as Access point with IP 10.1.10.253 and connect to port #2 of smc modem/router would that conflict ip address from public and personal or do i need to get an static ip from comcast for all my business and personal needs and dynamic for public? please advice me the correct methods also I am planning to put several access point around my building for public use currently i have about 5-6 belkin routers/Access points....

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,430
    Get a business grade access point that supports multiple SSIDs and specifically a feature called "Client Isolation" for guest networks.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Comcast Business Class Gateway Setup
    By scottrill2 in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-06-12, 09:00 AM
  2. WHS on Comcast Business Class with Static IP's
    By Quigs in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-27-12, 05:07 AM
  3. Is this ok for Comcast Business Class
    By Ian Hutchinson in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-25-11, 02:32 PM
  4. Help setting up Comcast Business Class please
    By hqdrummer in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-23-11, 04:45 PM
  5. New Business Class Cable Service here - Tweak Suggestions Needed
    By Killfly in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-09-06, 08:45 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •