Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: gpu3 questions

  1. #1
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,171

    gpu3 questions

    Got my new GTX 460

    Downed gpu3 client.

    Changed the target to "C:\Program Files\Folding@home\Folding@home-gpu\Folding@home.exe" -forcegpu nvidia_fermi

    It starts fine but when I go to display it says "core not running now"
    Every time I close and re-open the display window it starts over.

    The icon goes to "gpu f@h sleeping"

    Log shows it downloading the core and throwing an error trying to start it...then it says it's going to sleep for 1 days as there have been 5 consecutive cores executed, none of which completed.

    Any help appreciated

  2. #2
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,171
    Un-installed, deleted shortcuts and folders, re-installed.

    Same problem: core status 63 (99)
    Error starting core, back to sleep.

  3. #3
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    12,989
    http://foldingforum.org/

    look here for some help

  4. #4
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,171
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark View Post
    http://foldingforum.org/

    look here for some help
    Hey Mark
    Thanks for the link.
    Been looking there for the past 4 hours.

  5. #5
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,906
    Are you using the latest non beta nvidia drivers?

  6. #6
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,171
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    Are you using the latest non beta nvidia drivers?
    Tried the latest off their site and 275.27 and 265.58.

  7. #7
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,906
    Were you folding with another GPU before this? And if so did you start fresh with a new client/WU with this or try to continue the old WU?

  8. #8
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,906
    Also you could try the 280.26 drivers and the v7 client.

  9. #9
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,171
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    Also you could try the 280.26 drivers and the v7 client.
    Have tried 4 different sets of drivers, done all Windows updates, deleted and re-installed gpu3 several times, tried everything here: http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=59&t=15924

    Still goes to sleep after downloading cores and failing to start them.

    Never folded with a gpu before.

    Will look for the v7 client.

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,906
    The v7 client is the main download for all windows versions on the folding front page. Just select GPU only.

  11. #11
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,171
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    The v7 client is the main download for all windows versions on the folding front page. Just select GPU only.
    Un-installed everything, deleted the f@h directories, installed v7, preferred smp/gpu.

    Now what?

    No folding icon (used to the graphical version), no folding log in c:\program files\fahclient to see what's going on.

    Oh, and FAHcontrol.exe says application has failed to start because application configuration is incorrect.

    FAHclient.exe is a command window that says "started FaHCore on PID 2952"

    Questions... during installation it asked for preferred clients...this is a dual core AMD w/ a GTX 460 so I chose SMP/gpu, is that correct?
    I assume it installed 1 version for the cpu and 1 for the gpu, is that correct?

    How tf can I tell if either is running w/out an icon or a log file?

    Thanks

    *just saw your last post, will try it again w/ gpu only*
    christ

  12. #12
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,171
    ok, same as what I tried a few minutes ago but installed gpu only.

    Seems to be running fine except FAH viewer shows no info:
    project 0
    core unknown
    progress 0%
    time left blank
    Donor name unknown
    Donor team unknown

    Hopefully that'll change once it reaches a save point..?

  13. #13
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,171
    Well ****, FAHcontrol still won't start.

    Downed VC++ redistribute, restarting now to see if it makes any difference.

  14. #14
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,906
    At this point I think you need to post on the official forums.

  15. #15
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,171
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF View Post
    At this point I think you need to post on the official forums.
    I agree. This is ridiculous.

    Tried 7 different sets of drivers, rebooted after each.
    Looked at the f@h forums and foldingaddict and just about everywhere else.

    Tried gpu3, gpu2, v7.

    Updated Windows and .Net and SP3 and Visual C++.

    Turned off the Windows firewall, spun 3 times and clicked my heels.

    Holy sh*t.

    Re-installing XP now, again.

    If not I'll hit the f@h forums and post there.

  16. #16
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,171
    This sucks.

    Nothing on folding forums has helped, despite good advice.

    Benchmarks for the card are fine, tried 3 clients, 10 drivers, .Net 2.0, clear %appdata%, power management settings, re-seated video card and RAM.

    Card works fine but is a $150 brick so far.

  17. #17
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,906
    It does suck.

    I hate just throwing random stuff at you to try but thats all I can think of at this point.

    http://fahtracker.com/index.html

    Theres a good guide for setting it up on there too.

  18. #18
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,171
    Turned out to be .Net updates.

    Didn't show up w/ Windows updates at all, had done manual .Net 2.0 updates which didn't help.

    A 3.? update showed up, downed it it and the V7 client installed right off the bat.

    Thanks for the suggestions.

  19. #19
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    27,171
    And I'm using f@h tracker v2, nice program that compliments the f@h viewer pretty well.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-05-04, 08:46 PM
  2. VB.net questions
    By Sid in forum Programming Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-04-04, 05:49 PM
  3. Two questions about FTP
    By Kami in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-21-04, 04:56 AM
  4. Car Questions: Again
    By aagiants in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-16-03, 02:12 PM
  5. I'm getting DSL! got questions!
    By TiDBiT in forum Gaming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-11-00, 06:10 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •