Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Splitter Help

  1. #1

    Question Splitter Help

    Hey Guys I have had problems with my internet in the past and it is acting up again. The Internet will randomly turn on and off for no apparent reason. This problem was fixed by a road runner service guy that said the frequency was to high or something and replace my splitters. Although not ideal here is my setup, it goes from a cable outlet to a 2 way splitter one end goes to a fax modem and the other continues to my room where it splits again 2ways. One end goes to a tv and finally to the modem. Hope you can follow that. My modem is brand new so I know that isn't the problem (Moterola Surfboard). Finally we get to the question since I think the splitters are bad again which type should I get. Thanks and for those of you that might think its my desktop, my laptop also loses internet at the same time. Any good feedback is welcome or if you think its something else. Thanks
    Don't know if this will be helpful:

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 2012.01.02 22:40
    IP address: 67.255.xxx.xxx
    Client OS/browser: Windows Vista (Chrome 16.0.912.63)

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030201010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 65700 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2 bits (2^2=4)
    Unscaled RWIN : 16425
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 2628kbps (329KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1051kbps (131KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 113
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)
    Last edited by Starking57; 01-02-12 at 09:57 PM.

  2. #2
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,173
    It shouldn't be split more than twice... the main feed from the box of the house should be going to a single splitter (one that doesn't degrade the db) and right to the cable modem... the other feed can be split off to the TV and fax or whatever.

    What it sounds like is happening to me is the signal is dropping cause of the splitters - I'd run a straight line for a while to the modem and look at the levels of it using the modem signal page. If its not right and the tech put in a splitter to offset it instead of adjusting at the pole he/she is lazy and putting two inline to the modem is stupid.

    Also make sure the line going from the main box to you're modem is RG-6 and not old 59 crap if it is 59 then either you replace it or have the tech run you off a stretch of it. If you can find a Sat co guy you know or something let them run you off some of that good copper they use for the satellite hook ups.

    here is the modem page link

    http://192.168.100.1/

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-11, 09:34 PM
  2. dsl splitter?
    By lostinspace in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-19-04, 09:57 AM
  3. NID Splitter
    By togrok in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-23-03, 09:42 AM
  4. 56k Splitter
    By aagiants in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-03-02, 12:27 AM
  5. mpg splitter
    By Banshee in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-10-02, 02:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •