Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: AT&T U-Verse Elite slow speed

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    17

    AT&T U-Verse Elite slow speed

    My last promo has ended and a rep told me i am eligible for 6mb elite package so i got that instead of the 3mb, because my last promo was 3mb. they said i will get to 6mb within 24-48 hours and it been 5 days and my speed stay at 4.1mb. anyway to max it out?

  2. #2
    if your on a router behind the U-verse Gateway. expect loss of speed.. i dont know if the tradiotonal "Bandwith Loss" when you use a Router applies to the U-Verse Residental Gateway. as i only had the service myself for a month before i had to move. (and quite frankly im paying less (67$ a month prorated for phone and Net uncapped w/ WideOpenWest)

    but never expect Rated speeds. further away you are from thier distrubtion centers les syou get.. Uverse Is still a DSL product afterall.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2
    If you were getting 3M before then you'll just have to keep calling tech support and hopefully after a couple of calls and hours of being on the phone with their screen readers (first level support) the'll finally pass you to a 2nd level tech support who will send the right code to your modem to enable it for the higher speed. This happened to me with ATT when I went from 3M to 6M. The level 1 tech support cant or don't know how to do this. Even if they say they did they probably just sent a reset code to your modem and not the right thing. Talk to a 2nd level tech, it took me 2 days of calling with them telling me just wait a couple of hours. But once they sent the right code it was instant.

  4. #4
    Super Good Guy! dannjr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,233
    I dont get here allot not like the Early days.
    We have AT&T business Uverse.. one has the normal 2wire without static IP and the other with 8 static IP's
    Simply said You need to loggin to the two wire if you gonna use a router behind it and enable DMZ plus to that router
    You should also add the Google public IP's and openDNS IP addys to the router behind the two wire.

    After your done with both of the settings
    Reboot the U-verse and wait a couple minutes and rteboot your home router.. Youy should have a big difference.

    If they hadnt got around to upgrading your connection yet.. Call tell them you were signed up for the added speed
    6Mb runs at about 5.5Mb when setup properly with almost 1Mb upload at least it has for us..
    If you have a iNID outside router. I know for possitive there having some minor problems "getting in" to help on the routing..

    I know this is a old thread but its also one that comes up first in a search on U-verse. and thought this might be helpfull

    Thanks
    dannjr

  5. #5
    Junior Member idavid4attdsl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Granite city IL
    Posts
    19
    If you are still having problems with this let me know, and thanks

    David

Similar Threads

  1. windows and u-verse tweaks
    By toughguy in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-18-11, 07:52 AM
  2. Good wireless connection, slow slow speed.
    By kevin0283 in forum Wireless Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-26-09, 09:41 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-17-08, 01:54 AM
  4. Help with my U-VERSE
    By mfitzs in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-13-08, 10:35 AM
  5. Avast verse AVG; which is Better?
    By Sting in forum Network Security
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 03-01-04, 09:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •