Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: New here, need help tweaking hughesnet hn9000 modem

  1. #1

    New here, need help tweaking hughesnet hn9000 modem

    Hello, I'm new here I was told by a couple people this was a good place to get tips to speed up my internet. Right now I have hughesnet satelite internet with the hn9000 modem. I'm also running a netgear wireless-g router so my other computer can get internet. I'm running windows xp. I was just wondering if there were any tweaks i could do to make the internet faster. Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Here I read I bit more, and realized I needed to add some more info. This is a speed test from speedtest.net. There is also the tcp/ip analyzer below. This is from the computer running off of the router. I'll post the results from the computer hooked directly to the modem in the next post.






    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 08.17.2010 16:49
    IP address: 97.73.xxx.xx(proxy:97.73.64.145)
    Client OS: Windows XP

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030201010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 200000 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2 bits (2^2=4)
    Unscaled RWIN : 50000
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 8000kbps (1000KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 3200kbps (400KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 116
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  3. #3
    Ok this is the computer hooked straight to the modem. Please give me any tips on any changes I can make to the modem, computer, or whatever to speed it up. Thanks





    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 08.17.2010 17:05
    IP address: 97.73.xxx.xx(proxy:97.73.64.145)
    Client OS: Windows XP

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030201010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 200000 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2 bits (2^2=4)
    Unscaled RWIN : 50000
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 8000kbps (1000KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 3200kbps (400KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 116
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

  4. #4
    I did a tracert also, and this is what I got. Can anyone help me out, and let me know if this is good, or i need to adjust things. Thanks


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    tracert yahoo.com

    Tracing route to yahoo.com [209.191.122.70]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 5 ms 4 ms 3 ms 192.168.0.1
    3 5 ms 4 ms 3 ms 192.168.0.1
    4 631 ms 569 ms 598 ms host977300265.direcpc.com [97.73.65.2]
    5 742 ms 593 ms 557 ms host9773007764.direcpc.com [97.73.64.77]
    6 * 644 ms 567 ms host9773008664.direcpc.com [97.73.64.86]
    7 771 ms 567 ms 578 ms host6714200250128.direcway.com [67.142.128.250]

    8 760 ms 551 ms 580 ms ip65-46-24-101.z24-46-65.customer.algx.net [65.4
    6.24.101]
    9 716 ms 569 ms 579 ms ge11-1-4d0.mcr2.lasvegas-nv.us.xo.net [207.88.81
    .77]
    10 706 ms 571 ms 593 ms ae1d0.mcr1.lasvegas-nv.us.xo.net [216.156.1.73]

    11 718 ms 583 ms 584 ms vb1410.rar3.la-ca.us.xo.net [216.156.0.145]
    12 722 ms 591 ms 557 ms ae0d1.cir1.la3-ca.us.xo.net [207.88.13.21]
    13 643 ms 544 ms 587 ms 205.158.79.206.ptr.us.xo.net [205.158.79.206]
    14 724 ms 577 ms 569 ms Vlan5.icore1.LAA-LosAngeles.as6453.net [209.58.5
    3.37]
    15 611 ms 582 ms 582 ms if-12-0-0-10.mcore3.LAA-LosAngeles.as6453.net [2
    09.58.85.89]
    16 762 ms 568 ms 591 ms if-3-0-0-926.core1.DTX-Dallas.as6453.net [216.6.
    53.21]
    17 694 ms 577 ms 601 ms ix-6-2.core1.DTX-Dallas.as6453.net [216.6.53.14]

    18 632 ms 598 ms 1137 ms ae-1-d111.msr2.mud.yahoo.com [216.115.104.103]
    19 564 ms 579 ms 587 ms te-9-2.fab1-a-gdc.mud.yahoo.com [209.191.78.151]

    20 753 ms 585 ms 1153 ms te-9-2.bas-c1.mud.yahoo.com [209.191.78.169]
    21 1108 ms 584 ms 560 ms ir1.fp.vip.mud.yahoo.com [209.191.122.70]

    Trace complete.

  5. #5
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,163
    What speed are you paying for ? 1 mbps ?
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  6. #6
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by deerslayer1985 View Post
    I did a tracert also, and this is what I got. Can anyone help me out, and let me know if this is good, or i need to adjust things. Thanks


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    tracert yahoo.com

    Tracing route to yahoo.com [209.191.122.70]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 5 ms 4 ms 3 ms 192.168.0.1
    3 5 ms 4 ms 3 ms 192.168.0.1
    Routers in the first 3 hops? What kind of signal devices are being used? Hop 2 and 3 have the same IP address for 2 different gateways. Signals will be bouncing about between the two.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  7. #7
    Yes I am paying for the 1mbps, but was told that I could get way faster than what I was actually paying for by tweaking it. One guy showed me his cable package with 6 mbps internet, and he was actually testing at 10mbps after he tweaked his modem.


    trogers, I don't really understand what your asking....bare with me I'm new to this stuff. I am using a router on the main computer. It is a netgear wireless-g router, and I have a netgear wireless-g usb 2.0 adapter to access the internet on my other computer.

    Let me know what I need to do to fix any problems I have, and make in changes for the better. Thanks

  8. #8
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by deerslayer1985 View Post
    Yes I am paying for the 1mbps, but was told that I could get way faster than what I was actually paying for by tweaking it. One guy showed me his cable package with 6 mbps internet, and he was actually testing at 10mbps after he tweaked his modem.


    trogers, I don't really understand what your asking....bare with me I'm new to this stuff. I am using a router on the main computer. It is a netgear wireless-g router, and I have a netgear wireless-g usb 2.0 adapter to access the internet on my other computer.

    Let me know what I need to do to fix any problems I have, and make in changes for the better. Thanks
    First, it is illegal to tweak the modem to get more speed than you have paid to get. There was a recent case a guy was charged for selling tweaked modems that can connect into the net without the need to pay for a line.

    What we can help to do is to tweak your settings to optimum, achieving about 90% of your paid speed.

    Some ISPs, eg. Comcast, do have a rapid speed feature which is an initial speedburst above the paid speed, but it is only for the first 15 sec and then speed will fall back to normal. This feature helps to speed up web page loading.

    As to your tracert, the IP addresses in the first 3 hops (192.168.xx.xx) are those of routers, and there is a conflict in IP address of hop 2 and 3, much like having two houses side by side with the same postal address. The mailman will have a problem delivering mails to the correct house...

    And usually, all we need is a single router.

    First, try connecting your comp to the modem issued to you by your ISP and do a tracert to have a look at the IP addresses in the first 3 hops.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

Similar Threads

  1. Comcast Problem Modem Tweaking Help
    By cablehog in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-13-09, 09:30 PM
  2. Cable modem keeps losing connection
    By zodiac88 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-28-09, 02:27 AM
  3. Cable modem keeps dropping signal
    By Stevis50 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-24-08, 12:12 PM
  4. DSL Download Problems
    By rfzbaker in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-24-07, 02:27 AM
  5. I need help tweaking my sbc 2wire modem!
    By milesprower in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-07, 04:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •