Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Using 2nd router on home network as "wireless repeater"

  1. #1
    Julian
    Guest

    Using 2nd router on home network as "wireless repeater"

    I would like to extend my network to the garden and was thinking to use a
    second wireless router I have in the attic (Trendnet TEW-435BRM). My main
    wireless router is a Draytek Vigor. What do I need to configure on both
    routers?
    Julian.



  2. #2
    Tony Hwang
    Guest

    Re: Using 2nd router on home network as "wireless repeater"

    Julian wrote:
    > I would like to extend my network to the garden and was thinking to use a
    > second wireless router I have in the attic (Trendnet TEW-435BRM). My main
    > wireless router is a Draytek Vigor. What do I need to configure on both
    > routers?
    > Julian.
    >
    >

    Hi,
    Better location of router in the house and/or better higher gain
    omni-directional antenna won't do?

  3. #3
    Char Jackson
    Guest

    Re: Using 2nd router on home network as "wireless repeater"

    On Sat, 22 May 2010 11:25:59 +0100, "Julian" <x@x.x> wrote:

    >I would like to extend my network to the garden and was thinking to use a
    >second wireless router I have in the attic (Trendnet TEW-435BRM). My main
    >wireless router is a Draytek Vigor. What do I need to configure on both
    >routers?
    >Julian.


    Make no changes to the existing wireless router.

    On router 2, disable DHCP.

    Connect an Ethernet cable from a LAN port on the existing router to a
    LAN port on router 2. In most cases, a standard straight-through cable
    will be fine. In rare cases, a crossover cable may be required.

    The WAN port on router 2 will not be used.

    If you want seamless roaming between the two routers, (technically the
    second router is an access point now), then configure router 2 with
    the same SSID, same channel, same modulation type (A/B/G/N), same
    encryption type and same password as the existing router.

    If roaming is not desired, then configure router 2 with unique values,
    as desired. Remember that channels 1, 6, and 11 are the only
    non-overlapping channels for B/G networks.

    Refer to one of the numerous guides on configuring a wireless router
    to act as an access point if you get stuck. Here's one example:
    <http://www.home-network-help.com/wireless-router-as-access-point.html>



  4. #4
    Roger 2008
    Guest

    Re: Using 2nd router on home network as "wireless repeater"


    "Char Jackson" <none@none.invalid> wrote in message
    news:vplgv5pspat2i2ujpf4aq5i81ooadsmbel@4ax.com...
    > >

    > If roaming is not desired, then configure router 2 with unique values,
    > as desired. Remember that channels 1, 6, and 11 are the only
    > non-overlapping channels for B/G networks.
    >
    > Refer to one of the numerous guides on configuring a wireless router
    > to act as an access point if you get stuck. Here's one example:
    > <http://www.home-network-help.com/wireless-router-as-access-point.html>


    The OP was asking about a "wireless repeater" and you gave him instructions
    for an access point.

    If you have a wireless repeater than there is no need to run a network cable
    between the two wireless devices.

    I use a Linksys WAP54G as a Wireless Repeater and it states:
    Note: When set to "AP Client" and "Wireless Bridge" mode, this device will
    only communicate with another Linksys Access Point (WAP54G). When set to
    "Wireless Repeater" mode, this device will only communicate with another
    Linksys Access Point (WAP54G) and Linksys Wireless-G Router (WRT54G).

    The neat part about that setup is I can plug a device into the Linksys
    Access Point and then it gets it's internet from the Wireless-G Router.

    I don't know how anybody else would setup a Wireless Repeater.



  5. #5
    Char Jackson
    Guest

    Re: Using 2nd router on home network as "wireless repeater"

    On Sun, 23 May 2010 02:35:47 -0600, "Roger 2008" <rwpcs@att.net>
    wrote:

    >
    >"Char Jackson" <none@none.invalid> wrote in message
    >news:vplgv5pspat2i2ujpf4aq5i81ooadsmbel@4ax.com...
    >> >

    >> If roaming is not desired, then configure router 2 with unique values,
    >> as desired. Remember that channels 1, 6, and 11 are the only
    >> non-overlapping channels for B/G networks.
    >>
    >> Refer to one of the numerous guides on configuring a wireless router
    >> to act as an access point if you get stuck. Here's one example:
    >> <http://www.home-network-help.com/wireless-router-as-access-point.html>

    >
    >The OP was asking about a "wireless repeater" and you gave him instructions
    >for an access point.


    Oops, I guess you're right. While the Subject indeed mentions a
    repeater, the Body does not, and I wrongfully assumed it was common
    knowledge that a repeater is a horrible idea in general and should
    only be used as a last resort, so I dismissed the repeater in favor of
    an additional access point to cover the garden. I shouldn't have done
    that since the OP may have valid reasons for wanting a repeater.

    >If you have a wireless repeater than there is no need to run a network cable
    >between the two wireless devices.
    >
    >I use a Linksys WAP54G as a Wireless Repeater and it states:
    >Note: When set to "AP Client" and "Wireless Bridge" mode, this device will
    >only communicate with another Linksys Access Point (WAP54G). When set to
    >"Wireless Repeater" mode, this device will only communicate with another
    >Linksys Access Point (WAP54G) and Linksys Wireless-G Router (WRT54G).
    >
    >The neat part about that setup is I can plug a device into the Linksys
    >Access Point and then it gets it's internet from the Wireless-G Router.


    The setup I described does that, too.


  6. #6
    Roger 2008
    Guest

    Re: Using 2nd router on home network as "wireless repeater"


    "Char Jackson" <none@none.invalid> wrote in message
    news:cvkiv550mjh5drlu75n68r40l38cih61ks@4ax.com...
    > On Sun, 23 May 2010 02:35:47 -0600, "Roger 2008" <rwpcs@att.net>
    > wrote:
    > >
    > >The neat part about that setup is I can plug a device into the Linksys
    > >Access Point and then it gets it's internet from the Wireless-G Router.

    >
    > The setup I described does that, too.


    Oh yeah you are right it does but in my case there is no network cable
    running between the Wireless Access Point and the Wireless-G Router.

    I wanted to try and setup a bridge instead of a repeater but I would have
    needed two Linksys Access Points for that so I setup a repeater instead.

    Under normal circumstances the wireless Access Point adds a wireless Access
    point to a wired network. I have it setup so the wireless Access Point
    gives me wireless access into an existing wireless network. That works
    great for devices I have on another floor of the house that aren't wireless
    and it extends the range of my wireless network to include the driveway at
    the same time.



  7. #7
    Char Jackson
    Guest

    Re: Using 2nd router on home network as "wireless repeater"

    On Sun, 23 May 2010 18:42:02 -0600, "Roger 2008" <rwpcs@att.net>
    wrote:

    >
    >"Char Jackson" <none@none.invalid> wrote in message
    >news:cvkiv550mjh5drlu75n68r40l38cih61ks@4ax.com...
    >> On Sun, 23 May 2010 02:35:47 -0600, "Roger 2008" <rwpcs@att.net>
    >> wrote:
    >> >
    >> >The neat part about that setup is I can plug a device into the Linksys
    >> >Access Point and then it gets it's internet from the Wireless-G Router.

    >>
    >> The setup I described does that, too.

    >
    >Oh yeah you are right it does but in my case there is no network cable
    >running between the Wireless Access Point and the Wireless-G Router.


    True, and that can be a big benefit. Unfortunately, it comes at a very
    high cost of wrecking the wireless throughput.

    >I wanted to try and setup a bridge instead of a repeater but I would have
    >needed two Linksys Access Points for that so I setup a repeater instead.


    Understood. I'm in the same boat, but in my case I only needed wired
    access in the distant room, rather than wired/wireless, so a bridge
    worked for me.

    >Under normal circumstances the wireless Access Point adds a wireless Access
    >point to a wired network. I have it setup so the wireless Access Point
    >gives me wireless access into an existing wireless network. That works
    >great for devices I have on another floor of the house that aren't wireless


    Yep, I have one of my WRT54GL's doing (nearly) the same thing. dd-wrt
    calls it Client mode, or Client Bridge if you want to simply extend
    the existing network without creating a new subnet.

    >and it extends the range of my wireless network to include the driveway at
    >the same time.


    In my case, I don't have the luxury of giving up half (or more) of my
    throughput as a result of running a repeater, so I didn't have much
    choice. Repeaters have their place, though.

    Anyway, I hope the OP got what he/she needs and is moving ahead.


  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1
    Thought I would comment after seeing the TrendNet interest.

    Personally I've had some trouble setting these repeaters up and wasn't too thrilled about it. I'm not that technically inclined but I can definitely get passed a few barriers when I'm confronted with them. Seems that I had a bad run-in with the company though and would actually encourage you to take a look at their newer models rather than going refurbished.

    Reasons why I say this is because if you take a look at the documentation they provide:
    http://www.trendnet.com/products/pro...-430APB&cat=83

    You will notice that many of the products don't exactly have a whole lot of support when it comes to updated drivers and what not. I made that mistake early on.

    However, I was scanning some reviews at http://www.wifirepeaterreviews.com and found that there's a bunch of them which actually get more attention that the others due to them being more of the "posterchild" repeaters which they are looking to get your attention.

    Point is, don't go refurbished because you don't know what your going to get for support on an older model.

Similar Threads

  1. Computers on home network cannot shared files on other net. comput
    By Dr. Dave in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-04-10, 10:24 PM
  2. automatic ad-hoc wireless connection?
    By sobriquet in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-06-09, 01:04 PM
  3. Can someone else reproduce this WinXP Home WPA2-PSK AES WZC bug?
    By Sharon in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-05-08, 04:59 AM
  4. need help in home network configuration
    By houstontester in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-18-08, 01:35 PM
  5. Adding VPN Router to Existing Network
    By sheider in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-17-07, 08:28 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •