Thread: Comcast Business Class Gateway Setup

Comcast Business Class Gateway Setup

Hello,

I recently had comcast business class installed to replace our DSL. We also have a small server colocated, since I have 10mbps upstream and the server does not require failsafe or redundancy I thought I would bring it back here to the shop to offset the cost some.

The server is a linux box, but also with a virtual MS server for terminal service apps. I have 5 useable static IP's.

The colocation company of course handled all the networking hook ups etc (I am a networking newb) and comcast refuses to give advice one way or another on the setup.

I would like this scenario:

1. Port 1 on the Business gateway needs to connect to a wireless router so my workstations/laptops etc can access. I would like to have one static IP for this and then use DHCP for all the stations.

2. Port 2 on the Business Gateway needs to connect to the linux box. I would like the remaining 4 static IP's to all go into this one server.

3. I of course would want it reasonably secure.

So my questions are thus:

1. The wireless router hooked up to port one is a Cisco and I hear they have good firewalls built in, so I figure the dhcp side with NAT will be safe correct?

2. On the server side at port 2, the Business gateway itself has a firewall/SPI but is it a quality firewall?

3. What would be the best way to hook everything up to arrive at the scenarios I wish for?

4. How do I get 4 static IP's all funneling into one port, I read on google I can have 8 static routes on the comcast gateway, is this what it pertains to?

Even a few hints will be leaps and bounds over the service I received from comcast.

Thanks in advance for your time.

Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    The SMC appliance that Comcast gives you with the business setups is a combo modem/router. It already runs NAT, its default LAN IP is 10.1.10.1, web admin username:cusadmin or custadmin, password highspeed