Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Time Warner Upload Speeds

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy Time Warner Upload Speeds

    Ok, here's the deal. I work from home and I have the turbo package from Time Warner Cable. I don't remember my download speeds but for upload speeds I am suppose to be getting 512kbps. That's what I pay for. The problem is I am not getting that and my job requires that I hit that mark or a 2% variance (490kbps) in order to keep my job. Currently, I am getting 489kbps. Does anyone know of a tweak that can increase my upload speeds by 1 point? That's well within the legal limits of what I am suppose to be getting in the first place. I have already tried the TCPOptimizer Tool and unless I'm missing something that tool did NOTHING to increase my upload speeds. PERIOD. I have tried disconnecting my other devices from my internet connection and that didn't work. I have tried defraging and clearing my cookies and cache and that didn't work. Are there any other suggestions that one might know of? Thanks for your help.

    Is there possibly a setting in the TCPOptimizer tool that I am overlooking? If someone tells me which setting I need to tweak in order to obtain this goal then that would give me extra guidance. Thanks for the help.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3
    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 01.29.2010 10:12
    IP address: 75.189.xxx.xx
    Client OS: Windows XP

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030001010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 64240 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0 bits
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Recommended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920, 1027840
    BDP limit (200ms): 2570kbps (321KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 1028kbps (128KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 46
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    3058 kbps down (~3.06 Mbps, 373 KB/s)↓
    474 kbps up (~0.47 Mbps, 58 KB/s)↑
    3072 KB downloaded in 8.229 seconds
    1024 KB uploaded in 17.709 seconds
    Tested on: 2010.01.29 10:17 EST
    Tested from: dailyracing.co.uk
    Test Link: http://www.speedguide.net/speedtest/...p?test=2769699
    Latency: 114ms
    Provider: nc.res.rr.com
    Location: US

    I would like to get my max upload speed from my ISP. Can anyone help me accomplish this?
    Last edited by AJ1981; 01-29-10 at 11:15 AM.

  3. #3
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Upload speed cannot be tweaked under TCP settings. You can try the tweak to AFD parameter in your XP.

    Download and run Cablenut and enter just one field:

    DefaultSendWindow - 65536
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  4. #4
    SG Enthusiast OSULLY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Catskills NY
    Posts
    1,351
    Check out DSL
    ___________________________________________

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks, Trogers and Osully, for responding to my OP. I tried both of your suggestions. DSL services have a significant decrease in download speeds while showing a gain in upload speeds so that's a new obstacle I have to face, and I downloaded and installed the program and then followed your instructions, Trogers. My upload speeds did not change. Can someone tell me how to uncap an smc modem or show me how to tweak my cable modem settings simply to pass this test? That would be helpful.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-01-09, 12:54 PM
  2. Azuerus Download and Upload speeds keep resetting.
    By Mfrosty in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-02-07, 04:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •