Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Setting up a WNDR3300 as a wireless bridge - help!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1

    Setting up a WNDR3300 as a wireless bridge - help!

    So here's how my situation is set up. I live on the bottom floor of a 3 story house, low and behold the modem and primary wireless router are in the top floor, opposite side of the building. We went and bought a WNDR3300 as it was the only one that said it would work as a bridge in Walmart.

    So now there's no documentation for this thing other than the PDF on the disc which mentions nothing of setting it up as a bridge, the gist I got from forums around the internet is I might need a firmware update to even access that function, but I have no idea. I've never set one of these up before.

    The top floor router is a Belkin F5D7231-4.

    I'm kind of a nub, so step by step directions would be much appreciated if possible.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    16
    This can easily be done by flashing with DD WRT firmware and then configuring the bridge or Repeater. The WNDR3300 supports DD WRT out of the box, but flash at your own risk. It is great because it is an 802.11n dual band router, but the 5Ghz range is very poor through walls.

    Wireless Ethernet Bridge
    http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_Bridge

    Repeater Bridge
    http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge

  3. #3
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,200
    Can you run a cat5 from the Belkin to another floor? If so, setup the WNDR3300 solely as an access point and switch:

    1. connect WNDR3300 to your comp by cat5, LAN port to ethernet port on comp.
    2. access WNDR3300 control panel via web browser.
    3. in control panel set IP address to 1 number higher than the IP of the Belkin. Disable DHCP. Set gateway to IP address of Belkin. Name SSID to something different than Belkin SSID. Save settings.
    4. move WNDR3300 to floor above you.
    5. run cat5 from Belkin LAN port to WNDR3300 LAN port.
    6. connect to WNDR3300 wirelessly.

    In essence, you are creating a second WLAN on the same single LAN.

    If cannot connect then move WNDR3300 closer to you.
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless help for Gaming
    By colyou in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-09-08, 07:45 PM
  2. Re: Adding a Bridge to a Wireless Network
    By Phillip Windell in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-28-08, 08:56 AM
  3. Re: Adding a Bridge to a Wireless Network
    By Adair Winter in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-25-08, 09:50 AM
  4. Re: Adding a Bridge to a Wireless Network
    By smlunatick in forum ms.public.windows.networking.wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-25-08, 08:35 AM
  5. Issue using wireless ethernet bridge
    By Satch in forum Wireless Networking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-20-07, 06:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •