Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Tomato and Linksys WRT54GL transmit power?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Grants Pass, OR
    Posts
    117

    Tomato and Linksys WRT54GL transmit power?

    Any benefit to bumping it up from the stock setting of 42mW to 70mW? I see quite a few people running it at 70mW. Does it effect the life of the router? Does it pose any kind of health risk over time? Mine is brand new.

  2. #2
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,205
    70 won't affect the life of the chipset, above 84 is when the heat begins to build up. The best wy to increase range is to use better antennas. A pair of 7 or 9 Db antennas will almost double the current range at 70.

    FYI, In use dd-wrt rather than Tomatoe, more features.
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  3. #3
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,431
    Yup...84 is supposed to be the threshhold, crank it up past that..and the signal actually loses quality..it becomes "distorted". Much like a cheaper stereo system..when you put the volume up too far....the music starts to sound horrible.

    I like Tomato...yes less features than DD-WRT, but it's leaner and I find it "snappier" response wise. I've read on many tech forums many people have found it more stable than DD also. If you don't need all those features that bloat it up...sorta like linux distros.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Grants Pass, OR
    Posts
    117
    Is it true with the WRT54GL stock Linksys firmware. It is set to 28mW for the transmit power?
    Last edited by KoRnGtL15; 04-29-09 at 03:14 AM.

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,431
    Quote Originally Posted by KoRnGtL15 View Post
    Is it true with the WRT54GL stock Linksys firmware. It is set to 28mW for the transmit power?
    Old firmware was on most earlier versions of the wrt54...if I recall on the last batch of GLs we got in..I think it's at 45 now....I'll take a look. We get the GLs in for budget jobs...but flash with DD right away before setting up for clients. Or maybe it's DD that now defaults to 45. Eh...next time I set one up I'll take a look.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Grants Pass, OR
    Posts
    117
    Sounds good. Thanks!

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Grants Pass, OR
    Posts
    117

    Thumbs down

    Curious. I got to looking at the product manual. It says the RF power output is set to 18 dbm. Is that equal to 63mW? Or is the Linksys manual wrong?

    Appendix B:
    Specifications
    Model WRT54GL
    Standards IEEE 802.3, IEEE 802.3u,
    IEEE 802.11g, IEEE 802.11b
    Channels 11 Channels (US, Canada)
    13 Channels (Europe, Japan)
    Ports Internet: One 10/100 RJ-45 Port
    LAN: Four 10/100 RJ-45 Switched
    Ports
    One Power Port
    Button Reset, SecureEasySetup
    Cabling Type CAT5
    LEDs Power, DMZ, WLAN, LAN (1-4),
    Internet, SecureEasySetup
    RF Power Output 18 dBm
    UPnP able/cert Able
    Security Features Stateful Packet Inspection (SPI)
    Firewall, Internet Policy
    Wireless Security Wi-Fi Protected Access™2 (WPA2),
    WEP, Wireless MAC Filtering
    Environmental
    Dimensions 7.32" x 1.89" x 6.06"
    (186 x 48 x 154 mm)
    Weight 13.8 oz (391 g)
    Power External, 12V DC, 0.5A
    Certifications FCC, ICES-003, CE, Wi-Fi (802.11b,
    802.11g), WPA2, WMM
    Operating Temp. 32 to 104ºF (0 to 40ºC)
    Storage Temp. -4 to 158ºF (-20 to 70ºC)
    Operating Humidity 10 to 85%, Noncondensing
    Storage Humidity 5 to 90%, Noncondensing

  8. #8
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,205
    dd-wrt default == 70mW.

    wrt54g default == 19 mW on early version 2, other versions are set at 28mW, newest Linksys firmware allows increasing the TxPower to 40 mW.

    But the best method of increasing range and output-input is by using higher gain antenna(s).

    Currently, new linksys wifi router don't have external antennas. Radio Shack carries Linksys and has a stockpile of Gigaware 7dB with RP-TNC connector that fit the wrt54g routers. They are selling these antennas cheap. The package comes w/ 2 antennas. I just got one today for $3.43 w/ tax. Doubles the range of a stock wrt54g w/ Llinksys stock firmware.
    http://www.radioshack.com/pwr/produc...ys-2-Pack.html
    Last edited by TonyT; 04-29-09 at 01:45 PM.
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  9. #9
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,431
    We bought a whole box of these 9dBi ones, 18 bucks/pair
    http://www.fab-corp.com/product.php?...cat=282&page=1
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  10. #10
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,205
    -mW \ Dbm Power Conversion Table
    mW -- 1 2 3 4 5 6 8 10 12 15 20 25 30 40 50 60 80 100
    DBm -1 2 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I got a pair of those 9db antennas for 10 bucks ea:
    http://www.data-alliance.net/servlet...bi-OMNI/Detail

    That's a good price for the ones you got.
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Grants Pass, OR
    Posts
    117

    Thumbs down

    Linksys actually lets you set it to that? Not saying I do not believe you. Can you post a screen shot?

    Quote Originally Posted by TonyT View Post
    dd-wrt default == 70mW.

    wrt54g default == 19 mW on early version 2, other versions are set at 28mW, newest Linksys firmware allows increasing the TxPower to 40 mW.

    But the best method of increasing range and output-input is by using higher gain antenna(s).

    Currently, new linksys wifi router don't have external antennas. Radio Shack carries Linksys and has a stockpile of Gigaware 7dB with RP-TNC connector that fit the wrt54g routers. They are selling these antennas cheap. The package comes w/ 2 antennas. I just got one today for $3.43 w/ tax. Doubles the range of a stock wrt54g w/ Llinksys stock firmware.
    http://www.radioshack.com/pwr/produc...ys-2-Pack.html

  12. #12
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,431
    Just got a 1/2 dozen GLs in the office today for stock....came with 4.30.11 firmware, can't find anywhere to view/adjust transmit power. Getting wiped 'n flashed to DD in a few seconds anyways.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Grants Pass, OR
    Posts
    117
    The newest fimrware on the Linksys website is:

    Firmware

    *

    01/10/2008

    Ver.4.30.12

    My WRT54GL also came with 4.30.11 I also remember poking around for a transmit power adjustment before flashing with Tomato. I could not find any thing in the Linksys firmware that had it. Thats why I asked if he could post a screen shot. Maybe the newer version of 4.30.12 has that option?

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Grants Pass, OR
    Posts
    117
    When you flash with DD-WRT. Do you leave the transmit level alone at the stock level of 70mW with that particular firmware?

    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
    Just got a 1/2 dozen GLs in the office today for stock....came with 4.30.11 firmware, can't find anywhere to view/adjust transmit power. Getting wiped 'n flashed to DD in a few seconds anyways.

  15. #15
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,431
    Quote Originally Posted by KoRnGtL15 View Post
    When you flash with DD-WRT. Do you leave the transmit level alone at the stock level of 70mW with that particular firmware?
    Depends on the setup. At home.....I'm at 80 I think. Some single installs I'll leave at 80. For larger deployments where I have a bunch of them blanketing a larger area, I usually leave it turned down...example, I did 10 of them at a nursing home not long ago with the hi gain antennas. I think I have them all at 50 or so.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1
    I'm late to this tread. Have wondered myself about the default power setting on later Linksys WRT54G and WRT54GL firmware. Experimenting a bit with both WRT54G v3.1 and WRT54GL v1.1 running recent Linksys software, then switching to Tomato, Tomato settings of 50-60mw yield approximately the same signal strength as the Linksys firmware. If I have to be precise, I'd say 52mw. Latest comparison with WRT54GL v1.1 running 4.30.13 and Tomato v1.27. This is an easy experiment if you don't mind flashing the box.

Similar Threads

  1. Linksys WRT54GL and Tomato firmware newbie friendly?
    By KoRnGtL15 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-02-09, 10:19 PM
  2. Linksys WRT54GL with PPPoE trouble
    By navacioiu_liviu in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-03-08, 09:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •