Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Tweak My Ethernet Card

  1. #1

    Smile Tweak My Ethernet Card

    can someone help me speed up my net,my Ethernet Card-Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC,OS-Windows XP SP3,Country-India,Net Speed-256 kbps my maximum download speed is 35kbps

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 03.10.2009 20:38
    IP address: 122.164.xxx.xx
    Client OS: Windows XP

    TCP options string: 020405ac01010402
    MSS: 1452
    MTU: 1492
    TCP Window: 8760 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 0 bits
    Unscaled RWIN : 8760
    Recommended RWINs: 63888, 127776, 255552, 511104, 1022208
    BDP limit (200ms): 350kbps (44KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 140kbps (18KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 47
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    can someone give me any tips on changing my settings manually in TCP Optimizer so that i can improve my net speed..... Thank You for your help

  2. #2
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,148
    wow looks like your on dial up... what package do you pay for from your ISP?

    Also do us a speedtest would ya

    http://www.speedtest.net

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    wow looks like your on dial up... what package do you pay for from your ISP?

    Also do us a speedtest would ya

    http://www.speedtest.net
    Actually i aint on dialup its a broadband provided by an ISP known as AIRTEL in INDIA.. and i pay around 850( Indian currency ) including taxes and stuff

    When compared to speeds outside the country i would say the same

    Did a speed test and i have enclosed a copy of the screenshot.. I would be happy even if im able to tweak my connection and get atleast 10- 15% higher ^_^

    Help me out would ya ^_^


  4. #4
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,148
    bump your RWIN up a notch might help some.

    Make sure your clean from spyware/viruses and malware by doing a few scans..

    I suggest superantispyware, avast antivirus, malwarebytes anti-malware.

    post back after the scans with some more speed tests and just copy and paste the code in the reply box rather than take a screen shot and upload it.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700 View Post
    bump your RWIN up a notch might help some.

    Make sure your clean from spyware/viruses and malware by doing a few scans..

    I suggest superantispyware, avast antivirus, malwarebytes anti-malware.

    post back after the scans with some more speed tests and just copy and paste the code in the reply box rather than take a screen shot and upload it.
    I did the cleaning as you suggested by the following softwares and iam fully clean from any spyware,malware and viruses....but i dont quiet get the part where you told me to bump up my RWIN a notch sry iam a noob at this could you plz explain what the RWIN is and what should i do about it??

    Here's the speedtest done after all the cleaning ....http://www.speedtest.net/result/428708526.png

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,436
    Quote Originally Posted by Wingdagger View Post
    I would be happy even if im able to tweak my connection and get atleast 10- 15% higher ^_^
    Have you tried the recommended settings in the SG TCP Optimizer yet? Philip designed it to be very easy...just slide the speed bar to what the speeds are from your ISP and apply those settings. Start with that first...and you can fine tune if you wish after that.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,163
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1492
    TTL - 64
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    TCP Receive Window - 17424
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 10
    LocalPriority - 5
    Host Priority - 6
    DNSPriority - 7
    NetbtPriority - 8
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Rollingstone View Post
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1492
    TTL - 64
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    TCP Receive Window - 17424
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 10
    LocalPriority - 5
    Host Priority - 6
    DNSPriority - 7
    NetbtPriority - 8
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Ok i configured the settings as you told me and did a speedtest after that http://www.speedtest.net/result/429375032.png

  9. #9
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,163
    Your Speed looks good ! I'd say your speed is optimum !
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

  10. #10
    Ok ty for the settings but how can i increase my speed plz help ???

  11. #11
    SG Enthusiast Rollingstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    HoChiMinh, Vietnam
    Posts
    3,163
    Firefox Extreme Speed Edition

    What makes you: "...waking up in the morning so excited about & wanna FLY out of the door ?"

Similar Threads

  1. Weird interference problem (WiFi and video card)
    By bobolito in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-12-14, 10:54 PM
  2. Ethernet Card
    By delphi17857 in forum Wireless Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-11-09, 12:00 PM
  3. problems with wireless connection (ethernet port broken?)
    By johnnygabe89 in forum Wireless Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-23-08, 05:04 PM
  4. Wireless card, need one with ethernet connect
    By brembo in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-31-08, 06:33 AM
  5. tweak my ethernet card
    By StumpyHawk in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-12-07, 07:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •