Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: optimizing for gigabit lan AND cable

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3

    optimizing for gigabit lan AND cable

    Hello,

    i have this situation.

    My home PC is connected to gigabit switch, to which a gigabit NAS also connects. Switch is connected to 100mbps router which connects to wan. Over wan, I get 100mbps to lithuanian networks, and 2mbps to worldwide networks.

    Now, I want to optimize my connection.

    Whatever settings I try, i always get lower performance to NAS.

    Is this even possible?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    What OS are you using?

    Post your TCP Analyzer report.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    atm:

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 08.07.2008 01:04
    IP address: 88.222.xx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030401010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 921600 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 4
    Unscaled RWIN : 57600
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 36864kbps (4608KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 14746kbps (1843KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 01011100 (92)
    Precedence: 010 (immediate)
    Delay: 1 (low delay)
    Throughput: 1 (low throughput)
    Reliability: 1 (low reliability)
    Cost: 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DiffServ: No valid DiffServ equivalent (010111)

  4. #4
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by mrQQ View Post
    atm:

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 08.07.2008 01:04
    IP address: 88.222.xx.xx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030401010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 921600 (NOT multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 4
    Unscaled RWIN : 57600
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 36864kbps (4608KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 14746kbps (1843KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 50
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 01011100 (92)
    Precedence: 010 (immediate)
    Delay: 1 (low delay)
    Throughput: 1 (low throughput)
    Reliability: 1 (low reliability)
    Cost: 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit: 0 (correct)
    DiffServ: No valid DiffServ equivalent (010111)
    If you are using Cablenut, make sure you leave a blank for DefaultReceiveWindow and use 64240 for both GlobalMax and TcpwindowSize.

    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU - 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 64240
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    GTF, MT
    Posts
    2
    I have similar network setup with 3 PCs (Vista) and a NAS on a gigabit switch. This connects on one port of a WRT110 (100M ports). Then to WAN on my cable modem using Bresnan. The router also has two printers on it.
    My question is am I bottlenecked at the single cable from switch to router for access to WAN? I use for surfing and games. Should I upgrade to a router with gigabit ports and connect PCs and NAS to it?

Similar Threads

  1. Trouble with Cox Cable
    By ltwally in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-08-08, 03:25 AM
  2. Time Warner RR Home LAN set-up
    By AlmontKevin in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-15-07, 12:52 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-07-07, 05:11 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-01-07, 10:52 PM
  5. Help connecting two buildings wirelessly to make one big wireless LAN
    By littlebeartoe in forum Wireless Networking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-08-07, 01:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •