Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: IE won't stay as default browser

  1. #1
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Davie, FL
    Posts
    547

    IE won't stay as default browser

    After a major bout with Spywayre/Virus infection, and now it is all cleaned off, I have a weird quirk left over.

    Everytime I boot up my PC, if I click on IE, it says it's not the default browser and asks me to set it. I say OK, and it works for that entire time the PC is up. But if I reboot, same thing.

    Program Access and Defaults won't let me choose IE, I select IE, apply, next time I go in, it is back on "Use my current web browser" not on IE.

    Also, if upon bootup, I open OE first, then open IE, I do not get asked about IE being the default browser.

    Any help would be appreciated, as I already googled this and can't seem to find anyone who had this problem.

    Thanks!!!

  2. #2
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,198
    save this registry file to desktop.
    rt click file and select "merge".
    http://windowsxp.mvps.org/reg/IE_Default_Browser.reg
    (it comes from here: http://windowsxp.mvps.org/ )
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  3. #3
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Davie, FL
    Posts
    547
    Tony, didn't help. I applied it just as you said, still have the same problem.
    Any other ideas?
    Thanks,
    John

  4. #4
    Resident Atheist Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Sacramento,Ca
    Posts
    18,318
    this doesn't work ?


  5. #5
    Advanced Member MetalHead324's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    545
    This should help

  6. #6
    Resident Atheist Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Sacramento,Ca
    Posts
    18,318
    Quote Originally Posted by MetalHead324 View Post
    This should help

  7. #7
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,173
    try to reinstall IE?

  8. #8
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,973
    Quote Originally Posted by MetalHead324 View Post
    This should help

  9. #9
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Davie, FL
    Posts
    547
    Dan, no. Like I said, it stays set while I am on the computer. But if I reboot, I get asked again.

  10. #10
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,198
    Download HijackThis http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/p...php#hijackthis
    and post a scan log here.
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  11. #11
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,401
    Is your profile the Administrator profile? Or another user account? If another account...I've seen program defaults get hosed in that users account..but if you log out and log back in as Administrator..and set your program defaults, it may stick from doing that.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  12. #12
    Resident Atheist Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Sacramento,Ca
    Posts
    18,318
    nevermind

  13. #13
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Davie, FL
    Posts
    547
    YOS, mine is the main user account that is not the actual administrator account but account type is Administrator.

    I will try setting it while logged in as Administrator and see if that helps.

    Thanks!

  14. #14
    Advanced Member MetalHead324's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    545
    Quote Originally Posted by MetalHead324 View Post
    This should help
    im tellin ya, this would really help.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-14-11, 12:50 AM
  2. Setting/Unsetting a Master Browser in XP
    By Qui-Gon John in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-13-07, 07:40 PM
  3. ghettoside v. Extended Stay America Motel
    By ghettoside in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-04-07, 05:17 AM
  4. default roaming profiles
    By zeffer111 in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-07-06, 05:39 PM
  5. A routing query
    By dileepviswa in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-22-06, 11:26 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •