Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: what is my dns server (its the same as default gateway)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12

    khjhkhkjh

    hgjghjg
    Last edited by yoniekai; 04-29-09 at 12:34 PM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    DNS Server

    It is the same as your gateway because that is the default when you are using DHCP to pull your IPs from your router. Your router is most likely set to DHCP to get it's address from the ISP The DNS is provided through your router. Your router is your gateway because it will forward your requests to the next hop. The router is your DNS because all of your DNS requests will be forwarded through your router. You can type in static information if know the IP network you are on and the specific DNS server addresses.

  3. #3
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,418
    http://www.speedguide.net/read_articles.php?id=177

    Check your routers "status" page, check the support section of your ISP, call your ISP. Several methods to find out.

    Some routers will do the DNS forwarding for you..so they'll hand themselves out as the DNS servers. Other routers wont. I prefer to directly enter the ISPs DNS servers versus using the router. Once less hop, better performance. On the downside...if your ISP changes their DNS servers IPs (something that rarely happens)...your setup will stop working. If you use your router, updates will come down via DHCP.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  4. #4
    SG Enthusiast The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    CYQY
    Posts
    3,095
    I put my routers IP in as a third entry under DNS servers just in case my ISP does an overhaul or upgrade and change there DNS server IPs.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    102
    You can also try these 2 free DNS servers that are provided by OpenDNS.. I'm using them..pretty good..

    208.67.222.222
    208.67.220.220


    picoHat

Similar Threads

  1. A routing query
    By dileepviswa in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-22-06, 11:26 PM
  2. BF2 Read Me File
    By Illini25 in forum Gaming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-18-05, 07:58 PM
  3. BF2 demo readme file
    By Tpofa in forum Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-10-05, 05:46 PM
  4. I see they still haven't fixed it yet
    By Sid in forum SG Distributed Computing
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-20-05, 07:30 AM
  5. Need help with Apache Includes
    By TonyT in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-20-05, 10:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •