Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Very poor upload speed.

  1. #1

    Very poor upload speed.

    Analyzer results:

    SpeedGuide.net TCP Analyzer Results
    Tested on: 03.19.2007 13:26
    IP address: 70.44.xxx.xxx

    TCP options string: 020405b40103030201010402
    MSS: 1460
    MTU: 1500
    TCP Window: 256960 (multiple of MSS)
    RWIN Scaling: 2
    Unscaled RWIN : 64240
    Reccomended RWINs: 64240, 128480, 256960, 513920
    BDP limit (200ms): 10278kbps (1285KBytes/s)
    BDP limit (500ms): 4111kbps (514KBytes/s)
    MTU Discovery: ON
    TTL: 46
    Timestamps: OFF
    SACKs: ON
    IP ToS: 00000000 (0)

    Speakeasy Tests:

    I live in North-East Pennsylvania.

    New York City, NY:
    Download Speed: 3758 kbps (469.8 KB/sec transfer rate)
    Upload Speed: 297 kbps (37.1 KB/sec transfer rate)

    Chicago, IL:
    Download Speed: 3067 kbps (383.4 KB/sec transfer rate)
    Upload Speed: 344 kbps (43 KB/sec transfer rate)

    About the problem:

    This began about three days ago, and prior to this the upload speed to my knowledge was fine. I do a little bit of online gaming and video camming on the net and it suddenly became rather impossible to do those things. I ran tests wondering if it was a problem with my download speed, but as it turns out I believe it may be the upload speed. I don't know what could have happened, but I would strongly appreciate any insight or help into this.

    I downloaded and used the TCPOptimizer with optimal settings selected and my upload speed results don't seem to have changed much at all. I hope it isn't a factor with my ISP and I don't believe it is because the problem suddenly arised. Could they have changed something? Any help anyone could offer would really mean a lot and I thank you for your time. Here's some other loose information I can think of:

    OS: Windows XP Home
    ISP: Service Electric
    Connection type: Cable Modem

    Edit:

    Perhaps it isn't the upload speed being an issue. I just pinged a few servers and ran a connection test on servers located in California and other vast distances away from me and the download speed was rather poor. During the Speakeasy test it seemed very congested and paused rather often and took quite a while in general for the test to complete. I know download speeds will be much slower the further the server is away, but this wasn't a problem until recently. One of the game servers I play on is located in California. I'm just looking for a little insight into this matter. What may have happened, what I can do and so on.
    Last edited by 111uminate; 03-19-07 at 03:55 PM. Reason: New information.

  2. #2
    I ran the test found at: http://nitro.ucsc.edu/

    Web100 reports the Round trip time = 136.21 msec; the packet size = 1460 bytes and;
    There were 30 packets transmitted, 451 duplicate acks received, and 0 SACK blocks received
    The connected stalled 1 times due to packet loss
    The connection was idle 0.66 seconds (6.60%) of the time
    C2S throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 2.10%
    S2C throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 25.08%
    This connection is network limited 99.83% of the time.

    Uhh, that can't be good can it?

  3. #3
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try the following with TCP Optimizer:

    General Settings tab:
    Custom settings - check
    Modify All Network Adapters - check
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    MTU 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 64240
    MTU Discovery - Yes
    Black Hole Detect - No
    Selective Acks - Yes
    Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 Options:
    Windows Scaling - uncheck
    Timestamps - uncheck

    Advanced Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    LocalPriority - 1
    Host Priority - 1
    DNSPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
    QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
    ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
    ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
    MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
    NetFailureCacheTime - 0
    NegativeSOACache Time - 0
    LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

    After reboot, test your speed at this link using the recommended test server:

    www.speedtest.net

  4. #4
    Recommended server:


    California server:


    The way the test ran for the California server was curious. A lot of pausing and stuttering going on. I never had these problems before. I entered in those values you posted into TCPOptimizer but I'm not sure if I notice any changes. I believe this may be an ISP issue, but I thank you for your assistance so far.

  5. #5
    Web100 results after I input those settings you requested:

    Test #1:
    Web100 reports the Round trip time = 233.96 msec; the Packet size = 1460 Bytes; and
    There were 23 packets retransmitted, 17 duplicate acks received, and 0 SACK blocks received
    The connection stalled 4 times due to packet loss
    The connection was idle 1.88 seconds (18.8%) of the time
    C2S throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 1.95%
    S2C throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 13.18%
    This connection is network limited 99.83% of the time.
    Excessive packet loss is impacting your performance, check the auto-negotiate function on your local PC and network switch

    Test #2:
    Web100 reports the Round trip time = 220.23 msec; the Packet size = 1460 Bytes; and
    There were 52 packets retransmitted, 42 duplicate acks received, and 14 SACK blocks received
    The connection stalled 2 times due to packet loss
    The connection was idle 0.94 seconds (9.4%) of the time
    C2S throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 2.27%
    S2C throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 6.54%
    This connection is network limited 99.9% of the time.

    So uh, it seems packet loss would be the problem. How do I go about fixing that problem? I don't even understand where this could have came from and why it suddenly would happen as it did.

  6. #6
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Do a tracert to www.yahoo.com and post.

  7. #7
    Apologies for the delay in response. I'm trying to tackle this problem whenever I can, and I thank you for your continued assistance. Here is the tracert results:

    Microsoft(R) Windows DOS
    (C)Copyright Microsoft Corp 1990-2001.

    C:\tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht2.akadns.net [69.147.114.210]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms 1 ms <1 ms 70.xx.xxx.xxx.res-cmts.wbo.ptd.net [70.44.214.112]
    2 9 ms 9 ms 10 ms 10.112.0.1
    3 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms gateway2-g2-1-050-WB3Blocal1.wb3.ptd.net [216.144.163.94]
    4 12 ms 36 ms 11 ms gateway-t8-1-hzl2wb32.hzl.ptd.net [204.186.48.121]
    5 11 ms 11 ms 12 ms gateway2-t2-3-brh22hzl.brh.ptd.net [207.44.125.29]
    6 12 ms 12 ms 11 ms gateway2-t2-3-leh22brh2.leh.ptd.net [204.186.240.197]
    7 12 ms 16 ms 11 ms gateway2-t8-2-str22leh2.str.ptd.net [207.44.127.110]
    8 18 ms 18 ms 16 ms ge-6-11.car2.Newark1.Level3.net [4.79.190.25]
    9 28 ms 17 ms 19 ms ae-31-51.ebr1.Newark1.Level3.net [4.68.99.30]
    10 27 ms 19 ms 17 ms ae-1-100.ebr2.Newark1.Level3.net [4.69.132.22]
    11 33 ms 36 ms 36 ms ae-4.ebr2.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.132.101]
    12 193 ms 24 ms 24 ms ae-21-52.car1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.68.121.50]
    13 23 ms 23 ms 33 ms 4.79.228.2
    14 23 ms 24 ms 23 ms ge-3-1-0-p140.msr1.re1.yahoo.com [216.115.108.57]
    15 23 ms 24 ms 25 ms ge-1-41.bas-a2.re3.yahoo.com [66.196.112.201]
    16 24 ms 24 ms 24 ms f1.www.vip.re3.yahoo.com [69.147.114.210]

    Trace complete.

  8. #8
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by 111uminate View Post
    Apologies for the delay in response. I'm trying to tackle this problem whenever I can, and I thank you for your continued assistance. Here is the tracert results:

    Microsoft(R) Windows DOS
    (C)Copyright Microsoft Corp 1990-2001.

    C:\tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo-ht2.akadns.net [69.147.114.210]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms 1 ms <1 ms 70.xx.xxx.xxx.res-cmts.wbo.ptd.net [70.44.xxx.xxx]
    2 9 ms 9 ms 10 ms 10.112.0.1
    3 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms gateway2-g2-1-050-WB3Blocal1.wb3.ptd.net [216.144.163.94]
    4 12 ms 36 ms 11 ms gateway-t8-1-hzl2wb32.hzl.ptd.net [204.186.48.121]
    5 11 ms 11 ms 12 ms gateway2-t2-3-brh22hzl.brh.ptd.net [207.44.125.29]
    6 12 ms 12 ms 11 ms gateway2-t2-3-leh22brh2.leh.ptd.net [204.186.240.197]
    7 12 ms 16 ms 11 ms gateway2-t8-2-str22leh2.str.ptd.net [207.44.127.110]
    8 18 ms 18 ms 16 ms ge-6-11.car2.Newark1.Level3.net [4.79.190.25]
    9 28 ms 17 ms 19 ms ae-31-51.ebr1.Newark1.Level3.net [4.68.99.30]
    10 27 ms 19 ms 17 ms ae-1-100.ebr2.Newark1.Level3.net [4.69.132.22]
    11 33 ms 36 ms 36 ms ae-4.ebr2.Washington1.Level3.net [4.69.132.101]
    12 193 ms 24 ms 24 ms ae-21-52.car1.Washington1.Level3.net [4.68.121.50]
    13 23 ms 23 ms 33 ms 4.79.228.2
    14 23 ms 24 ms 23 ms ge-3-1-0-p140.msr1.re1.yahoo.com [216.115.108.57]
    15 23 ms 24 ms 25 ms ge-1-41.bas-a2.re3.yahoo.com [66.196.112.201]
    16 24 ms 24 ms 24 ms f1.www.vip.re3.yahoo.com [69.147.114.210]

    Trace complete.
    Something is unusual at hop 1. Your ping times are those of a router but your IP address is a WAN address and not a LAN IP that a router would have.

    Hop 2 is your modem.

    How is your router set up?

  9. #9
    Hmm. That doesn't sound right. Well I'm set up on a Friend's network, and it has four machines running off one Modem. The Modem is a Motorola Surfboard, and the router is a LinkSys (Haven't heard anything good about them). I can give you exact models if you like. Could this network be setup as to where it would hinder performance like this, yet still have connectivity? I'm going to have a look at it today. Someone could have switched something around since things were fine at first.

  10. #10
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Try turning off your Linksys and connect your comp directly to the modem and test speed and tracert to see if there are differences. There may not be if there are 4 comps sharing a line through one modem. Your speeds will depend on how much bandwidths are being used by the other 3 comps.

Similar Threads

  1. Can Routers Accelerate Net Speed?
    By bettysue in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 05-26-06, 11:32 PM
  2. DSL Speed Tests
    By FreedomFireCom in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-25-06, 06:41 AM
  3. TCP Optimizer issue
    By malaac in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-12-06, 10:34 AM
  4. Need Help Tweaking Please
    By duardo23 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-07-05, 12:59 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •