Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: installing switch before router

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1

    installing switch before router

    I'm trying to install a network switch in front of my router. So I'm going from the cable modem (comcast connection), hooking to the network switch, then from the network switch running to one computer, and then also hooking the router to the network switch for the other four computers.

    The reason I am doing this is so I have less issues when gaming online with my gaming computer (the computer that is hooked to the switch before the router).

    The problem is, if I hook the gaming computer to the switch first, and detect an internet signal, and then hook the router to the switch, the router will not detect an internet signal. I can hook the router up first, and detect the internet, but then hooking the gaming computer up second to the switch it receives a "limited connectivity" warning, and no internet.

    Is there a way to make this work?

    I'm using a Motorola Surfboard 5120 modem, a Dlink 4100 wired router, and a Dlink 8 port 10/100/1000 switch.
    Last edited by kctay; 03-05-07 at 09:13 AM.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    290
    You would need to buy a second IP address from your ISP to make that setup work.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by kctay View Post
    I'm trying to install a network switch in front of my router. So I'm going from the cable modem (comcast connection), hooking to the network switch, then from the network switch running to one computer, and then also hooking the router to the network switch for the other four computers.

    The reason I am doing this is so I have less issues when gaming online with my gaming computer (the computer that is hooked to the switch before the router).

    The problem is, if I hook the gaming computer to the switch first, and detect an internet signal, and then hook the router to the switch, the router will not detect an internet signal. I can hook the router up first, and detect the internet, but then hooking the gaming computer up second to the switch it receives a "limited connectivity" warning, and no internet.

    Is there a way to make this work?

    I'm using a Motorola Surfboard 5120 modem, a Dlink 4100 wired router, and a Dlink 8 port 10/100/1000 switch.
    On your Router does it help if you set that gaming computer to DMZ.

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,427
    Removing the router, or sticking your PC in the DMZ, exposes your PC to the threats of the internet..hacking, worms, exploits, .... suicide for the PC.

    I'd look into why your current router isn't performing well, focus on getting that working, perhaps getting a better performing router, and keep your PC protected.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Mixing a wireless router and an ethernet switch. How?
    By jb22 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-06-07, 04:57 PM
  2. need some heelp with switch and router
    By albertldee in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-13-07, 05:51 AM
  3. Using and Router and Switch
    By derboxen in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-24-06, 04:52 PM
  4. Same router, diferent switch
    By Britten in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-10-06, 04:34 PM
  5. Using A Switch & Router
    By dunn13 in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-07-05, 08:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •