Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: can't connect to domain controller...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1

    can't connect to domain controller...

    I can ping my server from my workstation, and i can ping my workstation from my server. I can also see my Server from my workstation in My Entire network.

    My workstation is my laptop.. on my laptop, i use nslookup, set type=any and i type my dns address, and it shows up fine.


    my trouble is when i go into system properties and click Change and click Domain and type in my dns address, it says the domain cannot be contacted.

    I turned off my firewall as well. still no improvements.

    why is this happening?

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,421
    Is the workstation using your DCs IP address as its DNS server?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3

    Smile Yep!

    I concur....also try joining without the .msft or .local or what ever it may be.

  4. #4
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    688
    Quote Originally Posted by johnallan View Post
    I concur....also try joining without the .msft or .local or what ever it may be.
    As long as you have proper DNS resolution that wouldn't matter.

  5. #5
    IT Consultant koldchillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    4,596
    When you ran dcpromo on the domain controller, you should have been required to enter a NetBIOS name for the domain. When you go to join the domain you should be typing the NetBIOS name of the domain rather than the DNS name of the server. Make sure you have "NetBIOS over TCP/IP enabled" in your advanced network settings.. It sounds like you already have it enabled if you can see the server in "My Network Places".

    Technically you can have a completely different NetBIOS domain name from what the actual DNS name is for the server. For example on my domain I use myserver.mycompany.local as my DNS name for the server, but my NetBIOS name for the entire domain is "mattstudio". When joining a workstation to my domain, I would use "mattstudio" instead of "myserver.mycompany.local The root NetBIOS name for the domain is what the domain controller is listening for when a workstation attempts to join.
    "Nobody's invincible, no plan is foolproof, We all must meet our moment of truth." - Guru

Similar Threads

  1. samba as log in server or domain controller tutorial??
    By clement_3117 in forum Wireless Networking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-25-06, 08:09 PM
  2. Domain controller
    By syedali in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-11-05, 08:04 AM
  3. Adding Router to a LAN point running on Domain Controller
    By CapFelix in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-21-05, 11:05 AM
  4. I see they still haven't fixed it yet
    By Sid in forum SG Distributed Computing
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-20-05, 07:30 AM
  5. Domain Controller Help!
    By chugger93 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-10-05, 10:38 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •