Thread: No Uninstall Option on "Add/Remove Programs"

No Uninstall Option on "Add/Remove Programs"

Hi everyone,

I would really appreciate your help.

When I go into the Control Panel and click on the "Add/Remove Programs", none of them in the list have the option to uninstall. Moreover not all the programs appear in the list

From the little search I did, I think that I must have deleted the unistall entries in my PC's. (PS: to cut a long story short, I followed some instructions to completely uninstall "Picture Show 4" which was freezing repeatedly. Part of those instructions included deleting files under regedit and I think this is where I must have done something wrong).

If this is the reason, can someone please tell me if the damage is reversible? And if not what are my options?

I know I'm not an expert and I shouldn't be messing with regedit, but that program was driving me mad and I had to do something.

I would appreciate any advice here.

Thanks a lot

When you click on an entry in add/remove programs there is no "change/remove" box on the right side?

http://www.ccleaner.com/download/builds.aspx

Install that and run the the Issues scan and the cleaner.

For the stuff not in add/remove, about all you can do is delete the folder of the program that you dont want.

Then in the start menu, go to run and type in msconfig, hit enter and go to the startup tab and look for entries for the program you dont want and uncheck them.

If your not sure about an entry ask here before you delete it, you dont want to get rid of somethign you want. in the path if your deleting picture show 4 it should show the folder name somewhere in there.

Hi YARDofSTUF,

Thank you very much for your suggestion. I have just managed to sit down and look at my problem again since posting last night. I followed your instructions, downloaded and installed CCleaner.

Under the option Cleaner I hit the "analyse" button and then "Run Cleaner" and did the smae under the "Issues" option.