Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: dlink router WBR-1310 forgets password

  1. #1
    Airman Thunderbird
    Guest

    dlink router WBR-1310 forgets password

    Just upgraded the firmware, and a new wrinkle added, the login password
    gets lost somewhere. The default user and password don't work. Once I
    reset to defaults with the button in back, I can login. Replace all
    settings including password, everything's fine for a while, then, can't
    login. This has happened twice now. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    scotta316@gmail.com
    Guest

    Re: dlink router WBR-1310 forgets password

    Not really a solution, but I have the same problem. After about a day
    of uptime, it won't let me log into the configuration utility. I
    believe it does recognize my password, though, because it redraws the
    whole screen when I use the right one, and just blanks out the username
    and password if I use the wrong one. (You probably have to have a slow
    computer like mine to see the difference.) I've contacted dlink
    support about this, but after about six emails, all they could
    recommend was reinstalling the firmware. It didn't help.

    Airman Thunderbird wrote:
    > Just upgraded the firmware, and a new wrinkle added, the login password
    > gets lost somewhere. The default user and password don't work. Once I
    > reset to defaults with the button in back, I can login. Replace all
    > settings including password, everything's fine for a while, then, can't
    > login. This has happened twice now. Any ideas?



  3. #3
    Airman Thunderbird
    Guest

    Re: dlink router WBR-1310 forgets password

    The original firmware didn't have this problem, but I can't find it
    anywhere.

    scotta316@gmail.com wrote:
    > Not really a solution, but I have the same problem. After about a day
    > of uptime, it won't let me log into the configuration utility. I
    > believe it does recognize my password, though, because it redraws the
    > whole screen when I use the right one, and just blanks out the username
    > and password if I use the wrong one. (You probably have to have a slow
    > computer like mine to see the difference.) I've contacted dlink
    > support about this, but after about six emails, all they could
    > recommend was reinstalling the firmware. It didn't help.
    >
    > Airman Thunderbird wrote:
    >> Just upgraded the firmware, and a new wrinkle added, the login password
    >> gets lost somewhere. The default user and password don't work. Once I
    >> reset to defaults with the button in back, I can login. Replace all
    >> settings including password, everything's fine for a while, then, can't
    >> login. This has happened twice now. Any ideas?

    >


  4. #4
    scotta316@gmail.com
    Guest

    Re: dlink router WBR-1310 forgets password

    I'd rather stick with the newer firmware anyway. Coincidentally, the
    only time my router ever locked up was the morning the new firmware
    became available that fixed the lockup problem.

    If I really need to log into the router, I only need to cycle the
    power. (Unplug it for about ten seconds.) Then I can log in normally
    again. The router only takes a few seconds to boot up. Of course,
    that erases the logs, so if you were logging in to check them, you're
    outta luck.

    Scott


    Airman Thunderbird wrote:
    > The original firmware didn't have this problem, but I can't find it
    > anywhere.
    >
    > scotta316@gmail.com wrote:
    > > Not really a solution, but I have the same problem. After about a day
    > > of uptime, it won't let me log into the configuration utility. I
    > > believe it does recognize my password, though, because it redraws the
    > > whole screen when I use the right one, and just blanks out the username
    > > and password if I use the wrong one. (You probably have to have a slow
    > > computer like mine to see the difference.) I've contacted dlink
    > > support about this, but after about six emails, all they could
    > > recommend was reinstalling the firmware. It didn't help.
    > >
    > > Airman Thunderbird wrote:
    > >> Just upgraded the firmware, and a new wrinkle added, the login password
    > >> gets lost somewhere. The default user and password don't work. Once I
    > >> reset to defaults with the button in back, I can login. Replace all
    > >> settings including password, everything's fine for a while, then, can't
    > >> login. This has happened twice now. Any ideas?

    > >



  5. #5
    Airman Thunderbird
    Guest

    Re: dlink router WBR-1310 forgets password

    Yeah, you're right. I contacted Dlink, and they said I needed to take to
    a live tech. Not really worth the time or aggravation. Just wish they
    had told me they were working on a fix.

    Actually, mine does seem to restart more now, and it keeps telling me
    about these "twinge" attacks, which I've never seen in any of my other
    routers.

    scotta316@gmail.com wrote:
    > I'd rather stick with the newer firmware anyway. Coincidentally, the
    > only time my router ever locked up was the morning the new firmware
    > became available that fixed the lockup problem.
    >
    > If I really need to log into the router, I only need to cycle the
    > power. (Unplug it for about ten seconds.) Then I can log in normally
    > again. The router only takes a few seconds to boot up. Of course,
    > that erases the logs, so if you were logging in to check them, you're
    > outta luck.
    >
    > Scott
    >
    >
    > Airman Thunderbird wrote:
    >> The original firmware didn't have this problem, but I can't find it
    >> anywhere.
    >>
    >> scotta316@gmail.com wrote:
    >>> Not really a solution, but I have the same problem. After about a day
    >>> of uptime, it won't let me log into the configuration utility. I
    >>> believe it does recognize my password, though, because it redraws the
    >>> whole screen when I use the right one, and just blanks out the username
    >>> and password if I use the wrong one. (You probably have to have a slow
    >>> computer like mine to see the difference.) I've contacted dlink
    >>> support about this, but after about six emails, all they could
    >>> recommend was reinstalling the firmware. It didn't help.
    >>>
    >>> Airman Thunderbird wrote:
    >>>> Just upgraded the firmware, and a new wrinkle added, the login password
    >>>> gets lost somewhere. The default user and password don't work. Once I
    >>>> reset to defaults with the button in back, I can login. Replace all
    >>>> settings including password, everything's fine for a while, then, can't
    >>>> login. This has happened twice now. Any ideas?

    >


  6. #6
    scotta316@gmail.com
    Guest

    Re: dlink router WBR-1310 forgets password

    Does it show these "twinge" attacks in the log? I assume you're seeing
    this in the log before your router refuses to let you log in. Or is
    there some other way to view or save the log?

    Airman Thunderbird wrote:
    > Yeah, you're right. I contacted Dlink, and they said I needed to take to
    > a live tech. Not really worth the time or aggravation. Just wish they
    > had told me they were working on a fix.
    >
    > Actually, mine does seem to restart more now, and it keeps telling me
    > about these "twinge" attacks, which I've never seen in any of my other
    > routers.
    >
    > scotta316@gmail.com wrote:
    > > I'd rather stick with the newer firmware anyway. Coincidentally, the
    > > only time my router ever locked up was the morning the new firmware
    > > became available that fixed the lockup problem.
    > >
    > > If I really need to log into the router, I only need to cycle the
    > > power. (Unplug it for about ten seconds.) Then I can log in normally
    > > again. The router only takes a few seconds to boot up. Of course,
    > > that erases the logs, so if you were logging in to check them, you're
    > > outta luck.
    > >
    > > Scott
    > >
    > >
    > > Airman Thunderbird wrote:
    > >> The original firmware didn't have this problem, but I can't find it
    > >> anywhere.
    > >>
    > >> scotta316@gmail.com wrote:
    > >>> Not really a solution, but I have the same problem. After about a day
    > >>> of uptime, it won't let me log into the configuration utility. I
    > >>> believe it does recognize my password, though, because it redraws the
    > >>> whole screen when I use the right one, and just blanks out the username
    > >>> and password if I use the wrong one. (You probably have to have a slow
    > >>> computer like mine to see the difference.) I've contacted dlink
    > >>> support about this, but after about six emails, all they could
    > >>> recommend was reinstalling the firmware. It didn't help.
    > >>>
    > >>> Airman Thunderbird wrote:
    > >>>> Just upgraded the firmware, and a new wrinkle added, the login password
    > >>>> gets lost somewhere. The default user and password don't work. Once I
    > >>>> reset to defaults with the button in back, I can login. Replace all
    > >>>> settings including password, everything's fine for a while, then, can't
    > >>>> login. This has happened twice now. Any ideas?

    > >



  7. #7
    Airman Thunderbird
    Guest

    Re: dlink router WBR-1310 forgets password

    Yeah, that's the weird thing. Occasionally, I can get in the router. And
    yes, the twinges are in the log.

    scotta316@gmail.com wrote:
    > Does it show these "twinge" attacks in the log? I assume you're seeing
    > this in the log before your router refuses to let you log in. Or is
    > there some other way to view or save the log?
    >
    > Airman Thunderbird wrote:
    >> Yeah, you're right. I contacted Dlink, and they said I needed to take to
    >> a live tech. Not really worth the time or aggravation. Just wish they
    >> had told me they were working on a fix.
    >>
    >> Actually, mine does seem to restart more now, and it keeps telling me
    >> about these "twinge" attacks, which I've never seen in any of my other
    >> routers.
    >>
    >> scotta316@gmail.com wrote:
    >>> I'd rather stick with the newer firmware anyway. Coincidentally, the
    >>> only time my router ever locked up was the morning the new firmware
    >>> became available that fixed the lockup problem.
    >>>
    >>> If I really need to log into the router, I only need to cycle the
    >>> power. (Unplug it for about ten seconds.) Then I can log in normally
    >>> again. The router only takes a few seconds to boot up. Of course,
    >>> that erases the logs, so if you were logging in to check them, you're
    >>> outta luck.
    >>>
    >>> Scott
    >>>


  8. #8
    scotta316@gmail.com
    Guest

    Re: dlink router WBR-1310 forgets password

    I just checked mine, and it had two twinge attacks. It's been running
    all day, and both twinge attacks were in the past hour. What a
    coincidence. BTW, I rebooteded it today, I guess that's why I can
    still log into it.

    Airman Thunderbird wrote:
    > Yeah, that's the weird thing. Occasionally, I can get in the router. And
    > yes, the twinges are in the log.
    >
    > scotta316@gmail.com wrote:
    > > Does it show these "twinge" attacks in the log? I assume you're seeing
    > > this in the log before your router refuses to let you log in. Or is
    > > there some other way to view or save the log?
    > >
    > > Airman Thunderbird wrote:
    > >> Yeah, you're right. I contacted Dlink, and they said I needed to take to
    > >> a live tech. Not really worth the time or aggravation. Just wish they
    > >> had told me they were working on a fix.
    > >>
    > >> Actually, mine does seem to restart more now, and it keeps telling me
    > >> about these "twinge" attacks, which I've never seen in any of my other
    > >> routers.
    > >>
    > >> scotta316@gmail.com wrote:
    > >>> I'd rather stick with the newer firmware anyway. Coincidentally, the
    > >>> only time my router ever locked up was the morning the new firmware
    > >>> became available that fixed the lockup problem.
    > >>>
    > >>> If I really need to log into the router, I only need to cycle the
    > >>> power. (Unplug it for about ten seconds.) Then I can log in normally
    > >>> again. The router only takes a few seconds to boot up. Of course,
    > >>> that erases the logs, so if you were logging in to check them, you're
    > >>> outta luck.
    > >>>
    > >>> Scott
    > >>>



  9. #9
    scotta316@gmail.com
    Guest

    Re: dlink router WBR-1310 forgets password

    The D-link rep I talked to acted like nobody else had reported the
    problems with logging into the router after about a day of uptime. I
    wonder if we can narrow down what we have in common that makes ours act
    this way. I've changed the default IP address of the router, because
    that address is already taken on my network. I've also changed the
    admin username and password, but I've seen another post from someone
    who experimented with that, and it didn't make any difference. I have
    external ping responses disabled. I have gaming mode disabled.

    scotta316@gmail.com wrote:
    > I just checked mine, and it had two twinge attacks. It's been running
    > all day, and both twinge attacks were in the past hour. What a
    > coincidence. BTW, I rebooteded it today, I guess that's why I can
    > still log into it.
    >
    > Airman Thunderbird wrote:
    > > Yeah, that's the weird thing. Occasionally, I can get in the router. And
    > > yes, the twinges are in the log.
    > >
    > > scotta316@gmail.com wrote:
    > > > Does it show these "twinge" attacks in the log? I assume you're seeing
    > > > this in the log before your router refuses to let you log in. Or is
    > > > there some other way to view or save the log?
    > > >
    > > > Airman Thunderbird wrote:
    > > >> Yeah, you're right. I contacted Dlink, and they said I needed to take to
    > > >> a live tech. Not really worth the time or aggravation. Just wish they
    > > >> had told me they were working on a fix.
    > > >>
    > > >> Actually, mine does seem to restart more now, and it keeps telling me
    > > >> about these "twinge" attacks, which I've never seen in any of my other
    > > >> routers.
    > > >>
    > > >> scotta316@gmail.com wrote:
    > > >>> I'd rather stick with the newer firmware anyway. Coincidentally, the
    > > >>> only time my router ever locked up was the morning the new firmware
    > > >>> became available that fixed the lockup problem.
    > > >>>
    > > >>> If I really need to log into the router, I only need to cycle the
    > > >>> power. (Unplug it for about ten seconds.) Then I can log in normally
    > > >>> again. The router only takes a few seconds to boot up. Of course,
    > > >>> that erases the logs, so if you were logging in to check them, you're
    > > >>> outta luck.
    > > >>>
    > > >>> Scott
    > > >>>



  10. #10
    Airman Thunderbird
    Guest

    Re: dlink router WBR-1310 forgets password

    I'm not near the router right now, and of course I can't log in 'cause
    it's acting up, but I forwarded this message to myself and Monday I'll
    check settings. I do know I changed the IP to 192.168.1.1, and I have
    internet access enabled. All I can remember about non-defaults.

    scotta316@gmail.com wrote:
    > The D-link rep I talked to acted like nobody else had reported the
    > problems with logging into the router after about a day of uptime. I
    > wonder if we can narrow down what we have in common that makes ours act
    > this way. I've changed the default IP address of the router, because
    > that address is already taken on my network. I've also changed the
    > admin username and password, but I've seen another post from someone
    > who experimented with that, and it didn't make any difference. I have
    > external ping responses disabled. I have gaming mode disabled.
    >


  11. #11
    I don't know what the hell is the root cause of my problem with the WBR-1310. Ever since I upgraded the damn firmware to 1.03, my router has been forgetting its password within 24 hours. I'm forced to manually reset the damn thing to factory setting in order to log into it to reconfigure my internet connection.

    This process is becoming more and more frustrating.

    I even bothered to call a D-LINK representative for advice. The Indian over the line just dodged my question and asked me to change my Advanced Wireless Settings.

    I suggest that every WBR-1310 with firmware 1.03 facing this annoying problem call D-LINK up and alert them of this immediately, so they can hurry up to resolve this.






    Quote Originally Posted by Airman Thunderbird
    I'm not near the router right now, and of course I can't log in 'cause
    it's acting up, but I forwarded this message to myself and Monday I'll
    check settings. I do know I changed the IP to 192.168.1.1, and I have
    internet access enabled. All I can remember about non-defaults.

    scotta316@gmail.com wrote:
    > The D-link rep I talked to acted like nobody else had reported the
    > problems with logging into the router after about a day of uptime. I
    > wonder if we can narrow down what we have in common that makes ours act
    > this way. I've changed the default IP address of the router, because
    > that address is already taken on my network. I've also changed the
    > admin username and password, but I've seen another post from someone
    > who experimented with that, and it didn't make any difference. I have
    > external ping responses disabled. I have gaming mode disabled.
    >

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    Another unsatisfied WBR-1310 customer...

    Just in case anyone ever directs a D-Link technician to this thread, I'll throw in my 2 cents. Same trouble, after installing either the 1.03 beta, or 1.03 (final) firmware update my WBR-1310 login screen no longer works after a few hours. I punch in "admin", leave the password blank and hit enter... the screen just reloads back to a blank login screen. My first email to D-Link said "Try rebooting the router". Not what I call an acceptable solution to thier firmware bug. Sent a second email to them today, asking if I could return the router to them as defective.

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1
    I had the same login issues and my router would just reboot when ever it felt like it. After 2 hours on the phone with DLink India, I was told I must observe my router for an hour to see if it reboots again and then they may consider about sending me a new one. Out of dumb luck I found on my PC an old version of the firmware and once I put that on the rebooting stopped and I was able to login with no issues. I sent this link to DLink so maybe they would see that other people are having issues also.
    Last edited by Drakken32; 10-26-06 at 11:37 PM.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    1
    Same Problem, D-Link WBR 1310 router, updated firmware, changed default password, changed default IP address, could log-in fine one day, and the next I can not. I have to hard reset in-order to log back in.

    Any one get ahold of D-link yet?

  15. #15
    I'm having the same problem with the 1.03 firmware. I changed the admin username and password. I also changed the default IP and range. Now I wish I had the old firmware. At least I could restart it when it wouldn't connect.

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3
    I have the same problem with the WBR-1310 ... and I believe I have a solution that I stumbled on another forum. The password lock-out (or forget) was driving me crazy.

    If you have uPNP enabled, disable it. I made this change and 24 hours later, I still can log into my router. The setting is under "Advanced" and then "Advanced Network".

    I also read on another forum about the fact that the WBR-1310 was really the same internal board as the DI-524 Rev D model and that some people found success with upgrading to the latest firmware for that model. I didn't try this.

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3
    Never mind ... it seemed like it to longer for the router to "forget" the password, but in the end, it still did it with the uPNP disabled.

    d-link support has been zero help and recommended I return the router to place of purchase (since I'm within 30 days).

    Not sure I'm going to try flashing with the DI-524 Rev D bios or not. If I do, I'll report back to the thread.

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    If anyone ever...

    ...figures out the fix, DO post it!
    Router still screws up, D-Link is non-responsive, I can't find the older (working) 1.02 firmware... guess I'm (we're) SOL. I think Linksys is going to look a lot better to me in the future.

    PS - A 30-second power-off doesnt seem to cut it for me, it takes poking holes with paperclips to get my router reset so I can login.

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2
    Well, I usually remote desktop into my PC from just about anywhere when I am not near the computer, and I was also having this issue. I already turned off the UPNP service but as like above, I still had this issue after a while. But I just tried this and I finially got access back into it without rebooting it as I am at my parent's house. I simply just used the socket http://192.168.1.1:80/index.htm and it seemed like it froze, as I lost my remote desktop connection for a bit. When I came back on, I tried logging in again, and it worked. This box is definitly quirky. But just wanted to see if this worked for you guys too.

    Richie

  20. #20

    Ditto

    I'm having the same problem with 1.03 also. Hopefully this gets fixed in 1.04 >=| I'm about to bring this router back and NEVER buy a Dlink again.

Similar Threads

  1. hosting game servers behind router
    By WAR_Nuker in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-25-08, 06:04 AM
  2. DLink DLS-300T and a Belkin Pre N Router wont work
    By pipkins in forum Wireless Networking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-24-06, 04:55 AM
  3. trouble accessing the config. page of my Dlink router
    By bdraft in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-14-06, 12:07 AM
  4. DLink 704P C2 router dropping DSL connection
    By janeiowa in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-19-05, 09:09 AM
  5. Dlink 108g airplus xtreme G router
    By Lithanos in forum Wireless Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-19-05, 08:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •