Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Verizon FIOS Bandwidth limit?

  1. #1

    Verizon FIOS Bandwidth limit?

    I am currently using Comcast HSI and lets just say I download around 30-50G/month on average. Though I heard from a friend that Comcast limits the download to only 20g/month, I never had any problem.

    FIOS just became avaliable in my area and for 2bux/month more, its about 2.5 times faster. I am just wondering if anyone have experience with verizon FIOS and if there is bandwidth limit?

    thanks!

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,911
    Comcast bumped the speed way up here, dunno if they have for you too. I havent heard of a comcast or FIOS bandwidth limit.

  3. #3
    I know this post is pretty old, but I was searching about FIOS limits on google and this thread came up. Thought I would share my 2cents with other people.

    I dont know anything about a monthly limit, but my FIOS is capped to 630kb/s download and a 210kb/s upload. Doesnt matter how many different servers I download from or upload to... they capped me. I called them and all the tech could say is "oh well we dont cap anyones service so check for viruses." They are idiots.

    The pros are that the service is constant, never wavers off that 630kb/s down 210kb/s up... never go out or disconnects me, and its cheaper than cable. The cons are that they are full of crap... 5meg down and 2meg up??? yeah right... The speakeasy.com type speed tests do read 5down2up but I talked to my friend who is certified with all this stuff and he said they are very unreliable tests. All I gotta say is when I download and upload, my numbers are always the same, and always a lot slower than their advertisements say.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Dissevered View Post
    I dont know anything about a monthly limit, but my FIOS is capped to 630kb/s download and a 210kb/s upload. Doesnt matter how many different servers I download from or upload to... they capped me. I called them and all the tech could say is "oh well we dont cap anyones service so check for viruses." They are idiots.

    The pros are that the service is constant, never wavers off that 630kb/s down 210kb/s up... never go out or disconnects me, and its cheaper than cable. The cons are that they are full of crap... 5meg down and 2meg up??? yeah right... The speakeasy.com type speed tests do read 5down2up but I talked to my friend who is certified with all this stuff and he said they are very unreliable tests. All I gotta say is when I download and upload, my numbers are always the same, and always a lot slower than their advertisements say.
    Thank you for the information. One thing to double check is whether you are getting 630KB or Kb per second. The one with the capitol "B" is measuring bytes, which are eight times the size of what Verizon advertises of 5 Mbps or five mega bits per second. Normally when you download or upload something, the speed is displayed in bytes, not bits, which can be a headache.

    Particularly given that speakeasy is reporting the proper speed and that the math works out very close with the conversion, (5 Mega bits per second / (8 bits / byte) = .625 mega bytes per second; .625 MBps * 1024 KB/MB = 640 KBps, which leaves only 10KBps off the promised speed) I lean towards believing this is just due to confusion with units. However, I would very much appreciate if you could double check the units for me - if Verizon truly is limiting bandwidth so incredibly, I definitely won't be buying the service. TIA.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    7
    Just basing off my current service with verizon which I believe was suppose to be about 2.5Mb or 3Mb down. At max speed i get ~345KB more or less down. So you figure 5Mb(Megabits) is about 640KB(kilybytes) so just as bocaJ said your only 10KB off from your max speed. Also if the speed is stays constant at 640 no matter the source thats pretty damn good i'd say. For me my speed fluctuates depending on the server.

    http://www.speedguide.net/conversion.php

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1

    5megabits/sec is 625kilobytes/sec

    I know this is a really old forum, but I just wanted to let people know that FiOs tech support are not idiots consumers are. There are several differnt variations to represent download speeds. For example a KB/s, Kb/s, kB/s, and Kb/s. These are all different. All of these should be explained in the small print by ISPs, but K is in base 2 because it is binary and k is in base 10 because it is in decimal. K= 2^10=1024 and k=10^3=1000. And where the person above went wrong is bytes and bits. B is 8 bits, or a byte, and b is a single bit. Therefore, 5000kilobits/sec = 625kilobytes/sec. If you are wondering what your bandwidth is, go to www.speakeasy.net and click on the speed test at the bottom right. This will show you what most ISP list there bandwidths as, and will convert it to the more recognizeable and useful representation of bandwidth in kilobytes.

  7. #7
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    Quote Originally Posted by terryda View Post
    There are several differnt variations to represent download speeds. For example a KB/s, Kb/s, kB/s, and Kb/s. These are all different. All of these should be explained in the small print by ISPs, but K is in base 2 because it is binary and k is in base 10 because it is in decimal. K= 2^10=1024 and k=10^3=1000. And where the person above went wrong is bytes and bits. B is 8 bits, or a byte, and b is a single bit. Therefore, 5000kilobits/sec = 625kilobytes/sec.
    I would just go back to the conventional symbols used before the days of the Internet, and which are still being used.

    KB, MB and GB all in caps refer to Bytes as used to describe capacity of hardware like hard disk and ram chips. Bits should only be represented by small letters as in kb, mb and gb.

  8. #8
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,192
    just got fios here, 20/5, i cap it out at 3 megs (yes megabytes) with torrents all the time

  9. #9
    verizon fios can offer up to 30 mb down and up to 10mb upload and it cost 199.99 per month but it has 30 times faster response time than cable or dsl of any kind and it it runs thru a true fiber optic str8 to your home its a new service that just came out a few months ago

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1
    fios speeds vary according to area - mine is new and30 Mb/s d and 20Mb/s are top speeds , I subscribe to 20/20 and rec just that ! it translates to 2.5MB/s

    the basic service is like 6/2 and comcast beats that in fios areas by providing Blast service which for me was around 16Mb/s d and 2 Mb/s up LOL it was actually very nice service but for me can't compare to fios 20Mb/s upload speed hehe

    now that comcast limits usage to 250gb/mo I am sure all others will follow with a cap, it's a matter of time

    I dint realize I was a member I just tried logging in and bam - but Y am I only a junior member ?
    Last edited by duesbag; 10-16-08 at 10:03 PM. Reason: just cuz

  11. #11

    fios bandwith

    i have just got back from corning new york glass museum and they did a presentation on fios what they said is that currently the maxiumum bandwith is sooooooooooooo high that they still haven't excedded it and are saying it is currently "unlimited" which means they can't exceed it like i said earlyer so it's wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy faster than comcast also i have fios and when i switched from comcast i experienced a serious speed enhancwe ment and it wass way faster so switch to fios and i also have verizon wirless and tv and internet im everything verizon also comcast really messed up my phone serverice and we switch to regular phone service from verizon then to fios )

  12. #12
    Junior Member Kriegar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Fingerlakes, NY
    Posts
    4

    Thumbs down tech support are not idiots consumers are

    Quote Originally Posted by terryda View Post
    I know this is a really old forum, but I just wanted to let people know that FiOs tech support are not idiots consumers are. There are several differnt variations to represent download speeds. For example a KB/s, Kb/s, kB/s, and Kb/s. These are all different. All of these should be explained in the small print by ISPs, but K is in base 2 because it is binary and k is in base 10 because it is in decimal. K= 2^10=1024 and k=10^3=1000. And where the person above went wrong is bytes and bits. B is 8 bits, or a byte, and b is a single bit. Therefore, 5000kilobits/sec = 625kilobytes/sec. If you are wondering what your bandwidth is, go to www.speakeasy.net and click on the speed test at the bottom right. This will show you what most ISP list there bandwidths as, and will convert it to the more recognizeable and useful representation of bandwidth in kilobytes.
    Not so much that consumers are idiots, but that ISPs' are crooks. Using bait & switch tactics (i.e., many different terms to rate the same values) are as old as cars sales...or horse sales, for that matter.

    And the Techs that work for them ARE IDIOTS, because they are, for one, helping to perpetrate the fraud, and TWO-being PAID for their "expertise". So, the only reason the CONSUMER would be an "idiot", would be that he was PAYING some botard to be an expert, when that BOTARD doesn't even grasp the linguistic ability to clearly define and explain the problem.

    Old thread or not, this misrepresentation needed addressing.
    Kriegar
    "Living diagonally in a parallel world"

Similar Threads

  1. Switching from Cable to Verizon FIOS
    By howard stern in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-08-06, 03:37 PM
  2. bandwidth stealing... need help
    By v1rt in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-29-05, 12:11 PM
  3. bandwidth limit
    By Center in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-27-05, 01:18 AM
  4. How do I limit bandwidth?
    By at3k in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-05, 11:42 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •