Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Help setting up used 2wire gateway.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1

    Question Help setting up used 2wire gateway.

    I bought a used 2wire 1701HG Gateway for use with my SBC/AT&T Dsl service. (I had been previously using an old Speedstream DSL Modem.) It did not come with the installer CD or Instructions, though I heard it was better to not use it since it installs a browser and some other junk. Anyways, I simply plugged it in and tried to see if my laptop would detect it. It did, but to connect I needed a WEP Key. Since I don't know what this was previously set to, I can't connect to the router. I tried pressing the little reset button with a pen, but that doesn't clear the WEP Key. My questions are:
    1) Is there a way to clear the key, or do I have to get it from the previous owner?
    2) Once I have that done, does anyone know the ip address for this router, so that I can access the browser-based set up?
    3)Is there anything else I need to know?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,423
    Quote Originally Posted by imer79
    1) Is there a way to clear the key, or do I have to get it from the previous owner?
    2) Once I have that done, does anyone know the ip address for this router, so that I can access the browser-based set up?
    Take a look at your computers IP address when you're plugged into the 2Wire...you'll see the address of the DHCP server and the gateway (will be the same IP)..I think by default the 2Wires are 192.168.1.254... You can also access it via DNS, http://gateway.2wire.net

    You can get into the web admin and manage all your stuff there..you'll need to fill in the PPPoE user/pass so it can log on...and you can manage your wireless settings there.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1

    2 wire wep address

    On mine, the serial number of the router is the wep address from the factory.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1

    2 wire router

    the factory default wep key is at the bottom of the router on the same sticker as the serial number but not the serial number. You can download the user manual from their web site. You have to be directly plugged into the router to access the admin console without the wep key and then you can change it to anything you want

Similar Threads

  1. How to make a Router NOT the Default Gateway
    By ins_ in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-15-08, 08:34 PM
  2. Intel Wireless Gateway help
    By leon phelps in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-06-06, 11:27 AM
  3. Setting up modem & wireless router
    By turando in forum Routers & Internet Sharing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-18-06, 01:44 PM
  4. 2Wire DSL/Internet sharing - was working, now not
    By Kyryn in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-09-06, 11:03 AM
  5. Upnp Setting error after auto-tweak
    By NobleSquire in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-22-05, 10:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •