Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: High latency from My IP to LOCAL/GATEWAY IP

  1. #1

    High latency from My IP to LOCAL/GATEWAY IP

    I currently have qwest dsl at home (640down/256up) AND it downloads/uploads at those speeds when I run speed tests (closer to 520/180 of actual throughput). But for some reason I get crazy lag in CSS (Counter: Strike Source, any game, or individual server) I ping, which seems "abnormal" for a 640 connection.

    When I ping ANY server- my first hop is less then 1ms, but the hop from my computers ip to my Local IP/GATEWAY is 78 ms... (which I think is in my house- according to the silly customer support man). From then on the hops only increase by around 30 ms to its final destination around the midwest (chi/dallas). I am using no router or firewall (besides windows, and disabling does not help), and my OS is XP.

    I'm almost tempted to go hook up my modem, and take my computer out to the box outside, to see if I can eliminate that 78ms hop (which seems rather high, am i right?)

    IDK, it must be something with filters in my house, or wiring or anything. BUT ANY HELP would be great.

    AND by my very basic assumption, If I would get maybe 350 ping with 56k, and I "supposedly" have 640k, which is aprximately 11x faster (640/56) then my ping which would be aprximately 350 w/ 56k whould be 11x faster = 32 (350/11)

    i mean, thats a real ROUGH way of putting it, but the difference between 32 and the ping im getting (which is close to 100) is THAT first hop of 70/80ish.

    yeah, ideas? I already tried calling qwest, they said the problem was on my end- and I kept *****ing about it, and ultimately decided after 3 hours they might actually be right in this case.

    so am I completely wrong? or what. I'll attach a ping and tracert to a game server in chicago (keep in mind, this latency happens to ALL servers so it is not a routing issue). ALONG with my modem's status screen, (pls don't hack me lol) if you think i should black out any info from that screen, pls let me know.

    PING
    Pinging 66.225.195.139 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 66.225.195.139: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=119
    Reply from 66.225.195.139: bytes=32 time=93ms TTL=119
    Reply from 66.225.195.139: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=119
    Reply from 66.225.195.139: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=119

    Ping statistics for 66.225.195.139:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 90ms, Maximum = 94ms, Average = 92ms


    TRACERT
    Tracing route to unknown.Chicago.velocity-servers.net [66.225.195.139]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 71 ms 70 ms 77 ms omah-dsl-gw04-196.omah.qwest.net [209.180.96.196
    ]
    3 75 ms 69 ms 70 ms omah-agw1.inet.qwest.net [209.180.96.93]
    4 72 ms 67 ms 70 ms oma-core-01.inet.qwest.net [205.171.132.29]
    5 70 ms 69 ms 74 ms oma-core-02.inet.qwest.net [205.171.132.2]
    6 86 ms 85 ms 85 ms cer-core-02.inet.qwest.net [205.171.205.78]
    7 94 ms 98 ms 94 ms chp-brdr-01.inet.qwest.net [205.171.139.150]
    8 99 ms 107 ms 104 ms chi-bb1-geth7-3-3-0.telia.net [213.248.84.21]
    9 93 ms 98 ms 86 ms so0-2-0-250.j2.ord.scnet.net [64.202.110.69]
    10 97 ms 85 ms 84 ms so2-1-0.j1.ord.scnet.net [64.202.110.13]
    11 97 ms 99 ms 86 ms unknown.Chicago.velocity-servers.net [66.225.195
    .139]


  2. #2
    I exactly the same problem

  3. #3
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    You have a router and modem in one unit. That is why your first hop carries the router IP address of 192.168.xx.xx

    The 2nd hop is the modem portion. The high ping times at hop 2 is probably due to your ISP using interleaved DSL, probably because the phone lines are old.

    The uneven ping times at hop 2 suggest your router/modem is being placed close to some other electrical device emitting electrical interference. Avoid placing it near to speakers, monitor, cordless phone set, etc.
    "Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but is the realisation of how much you already have" - anon

Similar Threads

  1. ADSL Tweak help, for gaming and high latency ><
    By virtualhasty in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-22-05, 09:30 AM
  2. A "Rough" Guide To PC Specs For BF2
    By Illini25 in forum Gaming
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-08-05, 07:08 PM
  3. Super high resolution camera
    By stevebakh in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-03-05, 06:13 AM
  4. High Latency on CS over Linksys Router
    By KaTsuMoTo in forum Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-15-05, 06:06 AM
  5. How do I improve latency when playing games online?
    By purecomedy in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-06-05, 06:46 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •