Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: opening a cable box?

  1. #1
    Resident Rodent Randy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    British Columbia Canada
    Posts
    11,900

    opening a cable box?

    when I moved into my house the cable box was open so i was able to run my coax from my satelite into the "cable box" wich routed to whicher outlet I wanted. Unfortunately The house I am in now the box is locked with a special key. I think its retarded that I cant access a junction without having some cable co think they own every outlet in the house. This is common even in new construction in Canada.

    /end rant

    I was going to post a link to that thread, but the SG search results for "bullsh|t" were too numerous

    sometimes you have to think outside the box to get inside the box .

  2. #2
    SG Enthusiast Duzmor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Pennsylvania U.S.A
    Posts
    3,880
    Randy What satelite Do you have -I am Looking into a System For TV

    Duz
    (The Protection of all with the Wadget Eye)
    (Never Trust Intel To Do AMD'S Job)

  3. #3
    Resident Rodent Randy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    British Columbia Canada
    Posts
    11,900
    its canadian you cant get it legally in the us, However I believe Direct tv is prolly the best american sat. I actually prefer cable but my cable co cut me off after they gave me a "free month" promotion but did not inform acounting which had noticed i did not pay my bill for 6 weeks but was actually only 2 weeks late

    digital cable is more reliable in snowy or windy weather conditions

    I was going to post a link to that thread, but the SG search results for "bullsh|t" were too numerous

    sometimes you have to think outside the box to get inside the box .

  4. #4
    Senior Member nightowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    ottawa, canada (ROCKS)
    Posts
    7,390
    Quote Originally Posted by Randy
    its canadian you cant get it legally in the us, However I believe Direct tv is prolly the best american sat. I actually prefer cable but my cable co cut me off after they gave me a "free month" promotion but did not inform acounting which had noticed i did not pay my bill for 6 weeks but was actually only 2 weeks late

    digital cable is more reliable in snowy or windy weather conditions

    I have bell expressVu and have had no problems, it only cuts out if there is a bad thunderstorm.
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilog B
    Loading the dishwasher at brembo's house means bringing the fiancee a sixpack home.

  5. #5
    EvilAngel search team ace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Emerald Triangle looking for EA and some trainwreck!
    Posts
    5,204
    Can you put up a picture of this cable box?

  6. #6
    Resident Rodent Randy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    British Columbia Canada
    Posts
    11,900
    Quote Originally Posted by ace
    Can you put up a picture of this cable box?

    I was going to post a link to that thread, but the SG search results for "bullsh|t" were too numerous

    sometimes you have to think outside the box to get inside the box .

  7. #7
    EvilAngel search team ace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Emerald Triangle looking for EA and some trainwreck!
    Posts
    5,204
    That doesnt even look like its locked. If so I have never seen a lock like that.

  8. #8
    Nope, not locked to me either

  9. #9
    Resident Rodent Randy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    British Columbia Canada
    Posts
    11,900
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris
    Nope, not locked to me either
    yeah doesnt look locked will go out and try later when neighbopurs arent out lol I think i just have to slide the 2 peices at the back

    I was going to post a link to that thread, but the SG search results for "bullsh|t" were too numerous

    sometimes you have to think outside the box to get inside the box .

  10. #10
    SG Enthusiast Kyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    4,861
    If you're not hooking up the cable company's incoming line (just using the existing cables in your home) then I don't think it would be considered illegal, would it?

  11. #11
    EvilAngel search team ace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Emerald Triangle looking for EA and some trainwreck!
    Posts
    5,204
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle
    If you're not hooking up the cable company's incoming line (just using the existing cables in your home) then I don't think it would be considered illegal, would it?

    No it wouldnt be illegal. We have house boxes here but we dont lock them so customers can add lines if they want to. Usually though they screw it up and we come back to fix it because they use the cheapest cable and splitters they can find. Then they wonder why there internet isnt working when they thought they bought the best splitters because the guy at radio shack tells them gold is the best.lmao!!!

  12. #12
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,260
    Quote Originally Posted by Randy
    its canadian you cant get it legally in the us, However I believe Direct tv is prolly the best american sat. I actually prefer cable but my cable co cut me off after they gave me a "free month" promotion but did not inform acounting which had noticed i did not pay my bill for 6 weeks but was actually only 2 weeks late

    digital cable is more reliable in snowy or windy weather conditions
    thats true,but sat is cheaper and with good receiver you can unlock all PPV/unsubscribed channels ...talking about FTA receivers,unfortunatelly they are not HDTV (the next generation will be) but they works on both cable and sat.
    I looose signal once every 4 months for 5 seconds ...not big deal
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

    www.kit-tronics.com

  13. #13
    Junior Member Skyline_R34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    B.C. Okanagan
    Posts
    10

    cable box

    Hey I have the same cable box as the picture but it has that stupid lock on it that just spins and spins. I was told I could us a bic pen but how. If you need a pic let me know and I will post 1

  14. #14
    Elite Member mountainman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    15,503
    If you aren't using their service, it's your damn box.


  15. #15
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,260
    so did you open it ?
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

    www.kit-tronics.com

  16. #16
    SG Enthusiast Leatherneck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    The Great Midwest
    Posts
    3,576
    Is this box on a multiple dwelling or single home? Big difference where I am. Leave one open in an apartment setting and thieves will come out like rats!
    USMC RETIRED

    Steve

    Tacoma Guitar Forum

  17. #17
    Court Jester RoundEye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    In a dry but moldy New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    18,262
    Quote Originally Posted by Skyline_R34 View Post
    Hey I have the same cable box as the picture but it has that stupid lock on it that just spins and spins. I was told I could us a bic pen but how. If you need a pic let me know and I will post 1
    More than likely this is the tool you need. Hard to find, but it's the easiest way to open it. Just keep in mind that it is against the law in some places to open the box. Legally it is property of the cable company on your house or not.

    Sliding down the banister of life ..........................

  18. #18
    Junior Member Skyline_R34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    B.C. Okanagan
    Posts
    10

    Box

    The box is on my house. I herd you can use a bic pen to open it apparently.

  19. #19
    Ft. Couch! morbidpete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    W. Warwick RI
    Posts
    7,188
    yea, melt the tip and shove it in let cool then turn while pressing in. the crystal bic, havnt tried the other bic

  20. #20
    Building Sand Castles Joint Chiefs of Staff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    The Sandbox
    Posts
    42,948
    Quote Originally Posted by RoundEye View Post
    More than likely this is the tool you need. Hard to find, but it's the easiest way to open it. Just keep in mind that it is against the law in some places to open the box. Legally it is property of the cable company on your house or not.

    Like Tobey stated it is the property of the Cable Co. If they do QC's or are just out and about in the neighborhood doing installation/services they will disco your line. I've done it myself do to signaling issues from multiple tenants.
    >>Cult Master of International Affairs<<

Similar Threads

  1. Router Cable Modem connection problems
    By mrglouie in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-14-09, 02:50 PM
  2. Cable saavi gurus get in here!
    By dialmybutt in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-19-02, 10:05 PM
  3. Is it possible to share a Cable modem, using only a hub?
    By gtcrispy in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-23-01, 01:16 AM
  4. Ultraband update
    By dannjr in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-11-01, 12:30 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •