Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Distance from Central Office?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2

    Question Distance from Central Office?

    My phone company says I can get DSL from them but I know I am farther then 3 1/2 miles from the CO. I think im almost a mile farther then that.

    I have never had broadband and I was wondering if there was something that im missing.

    Why would they offer if they knew my service would be poor?


    Am I missing something?

  2. #2
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,911
    4 1/2 miles is 23,760 feet

    3 1/2 miles is 14,480 feet

    What I dont remember is how much is too much lol

    But DSL companies want money, so they dont usually have a problem selling connections that will be poor

  3. #3
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,444
    A common cutoff point for many ISPs is 17,500 feet. I'm 14,000 something feet from my CO, I had DSL for years, ran great. Some ISPs will offer a light DSL service if you're 22,500..and I've even read 24,000 feet, from the CO. Depends on their policies.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lexington, MA
    Posts
    25
    Some companies have remote whatever (?) so you don't have to count all the way to the CO.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2
    A little more information


    I didnt sign up for any lite service, i signed up for 3mbps service.

    And their website says you have to be 18000 feet from their DSLAM.

    Is it possible that a phone company would put a DSLAM outside of a central office?

  6. #6
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,382
    the phone companies usues remote terminals as a CO that are outside the co
    Comptia a+ n+

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Edgewater Park NJ
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by mccoffee
    the phone companies usues remote terminals as a CO that are outside the co
    Does this mean you can get good service beond the 18,000ft limit ? I'm new, just signed up for DSL with Verizon and they have delayed my start-up date..Could this be the reason that they are installing extra equipment so I can get satifactory results?

  8. #8
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,444
    Quote Originally Posted by roehrle
    Does this mean you can get good service beond the 18,000ft limit ? I'm new, just signed up for DSL with Verizon and they have delayed my start-up date..Could this be the reason that they are installing extra equipment so I can get satifactory results?
    As phone componies grow, upgrade, roll out, expand their services..yes. You would then count your distance not from the CO..but to the terminal...which in most cases would be much less distance for you.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    26
    Also it's important to note that the distance is electronic distance. Not necessarily actual distance. And your physical distance is not necessarily the exact distance either. Often the ILEC/Telco will re-route copper so that it can reach a new building which could increase your loop length by hundreds if not thousands of feet. If there are electronics on the line which cause interference it could easily degrade your service or if the actual copper is really nice then you could get a more stable connection even though you are further out.
    Also, as mentioned above many CLECs will have remote terminals which can extend their range of service
    -Imp

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    290
    We have VDSL service to our building through fibre optic which has a range well in excess of copper lines. Distance is "almost" irrelevant with fibre optic.
    We're on a main street (served by a subway line) and there's lots of fibre optic running down the street.

Similar Threads

  1. DSL ....question about distance from office
    By JAGeorge72 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-12-03, 01:26 PM
  2. my Central office is 200ft away, what does this mean?
    By RYAN420 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-13-01, 09:04 PM
  3. Trouble gettin up in the AM?
    By TonyT in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-13-01, 03:42 PM
  4. What exaclty IS the central office?
    By sirix in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-16-00, 04:30 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •