Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Lowering my Ping ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6

    Lowering my Ping ...

    Hey,

    I need help on trying to lower my ping.
    I use a Cisco 675 DSL Modem and my ISP
    is Qwest. I play an onlime game called
    Ultima Online. The server I play I ping at
    110ms, Im trying to get down to 50ish.

    Whats the best way to lower my ping?
    Is there anything setting wise that I can do?

    Anything you guys can give me would be great!!

    Thanks for your time.

    ps
    If you do have a tip, explain it
    to me like Im a drooling idiot.. .

    Thanks!!

  2. #2
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,148
    Your ping depends on alot of things.. Connection speed of both up and down stream together properly.. check this with CMD in your run box and type ping www.yahoo.com for example.. check a site thats near where the server is located. Also could be the servers connection its on or how many hops it needs to go through to get from your computer to the server and back. Make sure you don't have any thing else trying to fight for internet bandwidth on the computer or another computer on the connection while your trying to play the game too.. IE: downloading stuff while playing.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6
    Ouch!!

    I used UOTrace & its 18 Hops.
    The server is greatlakes.owo.com
    Yeah, I dont have anything else
    really competing on the connection.

    Is there anyway I can cut down on
    the hops or do anything settings wise
    that I can do to my modem to help?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6
    Oh my ping to yahoo.com was 54ms avg.

  5. #5
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,382
    you can't fix ping or latency
    Comptia a+ n+

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6
    I cant fix it? So what youre saying is
    once you have a ping you cant do
    ANYTHING at ALL to fix it or get it
    better? Very Interesting.. .

  7. #7
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,436
    You can do some things to help your latency...
    Quality router
    Quality NIC
    Quality ISP...not all ISPs are created equal.
    Make sure your computer is lean, mean, and clean. Free from ad/spy/malware, viruses.
    Some antivirus programs bog down your system more than others, so choose a lightweight antivirus program.
    Software firewalls can bog down your system.
    Any other uses on your network sharing your router?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6
    -Quality router
    I have a Cisco 675 DSL which is a bit old. Will a newer one help?

    -Quality NIC
    Not sure what kind of NIC I have. Im not that great at computers,
    so sorry for my ignorance but NIC is a card that deals with TCP/IP?

    -Quality ISP...not all ISPs are created equal.
    My ISP is Qwest which I believe was bought by Microsoft. Ive never
    had any downtime with them. If I call them do you think they will/can
    help cut down on my hops?

    -Make sure your computer is lean, mean, and clean. Free from ad/spy/malware, viruses.
    I use Spybot Search & Destroy, Ad-Aware SE Personal & AVG, those ok?

    -Any other uses on your network sharing your router?
    Just my computer on my DSL modem/line.


    Thank you for those of you trying to help me.

  9. #9
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,436
    That router should be fine, old, but still a good one.
    NICs can vary in latency, some are el-cheapos, more software driven, CPU intensive, kind of like the cheap Winmodems of years ago in the dial up days. Good hardware controller based NICs are better. Some of the best performing NICs, 3COM, Intel, and the onboard nVidia.
    I used to shop around all the time comparing ISPs. Generally for DSL, the local phone company isn't the best. Better ones are such like Speakeasy...yeah 3x as expensive, but really good. Speakeasy even has an ultra-low latency gaming package.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  10. #10
    Advanced Member Mactron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    613
    Not in any way trying to detract from SG in anyway, but you may want to read a thread here... http://www.broadbandreports.com/forum/remark,14572012
    Interleaved first hop high ping , Fastpath lower ping first hop. Did this same battle w/ VZ and it made a HUGE difference. Good luck, HTH
    .

    Verizon 3000/768 DHCP DSL:
    Download Speed: 2802 kbps (350.3 KB/sec transfer rate)
    Upload Speed: 717 kbps (89.6 KB/sec transfer rate)
    :2cool:

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6
    So I should call up Qwest and try to
    get them to turn off my interleaving?

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    5
    Try the program Ping Plotter its free from www.download.com . Just type in the website of your server and it will give you a lower ping. Be sure to save after it lowers your ping so you can continue to use the lowered ping.

  13. #13
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,436
    PingPlotter doesn't do anything to change your performance, it's just a graphical TracerRoute...showing your hops, and you can see which devices might be causing the larger increases in your latency from your computer to your destination.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by BadPing
    I cant fix it? So what youre saying is
    once you have a ping you cant do
    ANYTHING at ALL to fix it or get it
    better? Very Interesting.. .
    You can always change ISP's.
    Tradewiz50

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    16
    2 things nobody else mentioned:

    1. Go to www.broadbandreports.com and run their speed test, packet loss test, but most importantly, their tweak test. This will help make sure your computer is set correctly for broadband

    2. Most often overlooked item in the whole bundle! How old is the wiring in your residence? Own or rent? If you rent, not much you can do except probably waste money in buying fancy cat-3 cable. Might help, but success has been very limited.
    If you own, or can get landlord permission to change the wiring, try making a new run from your network interface box outside the house, with high-quality wire, straight to your modem. This helps quite a bit in some cases.
    The ONLY stupid question is the one you dont ask

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2
    high ping causes sometimes access denied error, ok heres a manual method for reducing your ping
    http://darfuns.com/computers-interne...ower-ping.html

  17. #17
    There is no way to improve ping from your ISP to the server destination short of changing ISPs. if it's really bad, you may want to switch ISP to one that offers lower latency. Note however that sometimes the lag is route dependent/distance lag and is not your ISP's fault (actually it is their fault since they could get more peers and route it through another path but chances of them doing this for you is basically nonexistent)

    The 1st way you can improve it is by lowering the ping from your wireless router to your cable modem if you're on wireless. Ping time to the first hop should be 1-2 ideally. No higher than 5..

    Second way is to nag your ISP to fix the ping times to the 2nd and 3rd hops if the ping times are too high. pings to the 2nd and 3rd hop should be around 10, under 20 at least. Basically it shouldn't be too high before leaving your ISP's own networks otherwise you'll get high pings to everywhere.

    3rd way is to disable nagle algorithm. Disabling it will likely reduce your latency by half.

    4th way is to limit your MTU. Try different values of MTU. Personally I use 368. Beware that it will limit your download/upload speed but you will notice a reduction in latency.

    5th way only works for DSL type connections. By switching from interleaved to fastpath, you gain improved latency at the cost of lowered download speeds.
    Last edited by sakraycore; 04-19-09 at 10:38 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Ok, i'm freakin' out
    By LT-73 in forum Feedback, Suggestions & Questions
    Replies: 70
    Last Post: 07-12-03, 11:46 AM
  2. Lowering Ping..
    By Shrubby in forum Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-09-01, 11:52 PM
  3. How much does distance from CO affect connection speed
    By Sonjeir in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 58
    Last Post: 06-23-01, 12:45 AM
  4. UT Problems
    By poe3 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-27-01, 07:35 PM
  5. AT&T RoadRunner Atlanta Congestion Problems.
    By megabit in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 03-21-01, 10:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •