Thread: Comcast / Wireless Router problem

Unhappy Comcast / Wireless Router problem

I've been using a Netgear MR814 Wireless router for the past 12 months with my high speed connection through Comcast. I connect my PC and Vonage VOIP box via ethernet cables to the router and use the wireless occasionally with my laptop from work. All was going just fine until a few weeks ago.

Suddenly, I began to experience a significant "lag" everytime I tried to go to a web address. Pages that normally started loading instantly (like Yahoo, Google, etc) are now taking 4+ seconds to load and even timing out sometimes. The connection became completely unusable. I've found, however, if I connect my PC directly to the modem, all performance is back to normal and connection is great again. Of course, this is how COmcast made me test and they concluded that there are no problems on their end. Sucks for me because now I don't have phone service, lol.

Another strange thing - if I use my work laptop and connect to my work network via VPN, I no longer have the lag/latency issue that I described above.

When this first starting happing, my first though was Comcast was having DNS problems. Now it seems that the problem must be my Router. But I've changed no settings to cause this and the router is less than a year old.

Any ideas on what the problem could be? Any suggestions on how to troubleshoot? Thanks in advance!

Have you tried to reboot the router - unplug the power, wait and replug it in?
    You could try to reset the router to default settings. With cable, there's not likely any setting changes you made that you need to keep. If so, put them back in after you try the reset.
    Sure sounds like it's in the router if you can connect fine directly through the modem.

Tried hard and soft reset