Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Verizon DSL

  1. #1

    Question Verizon DSL

    I have just got Verizon DSL and have a westell 2200 modem. After installing the software all was fine I was getting speeds of 1500/384 even though they said I would get 3000/384. Something happened to the ethernet connection and will not repair because it cannot complete repairing my IP address. The only way I can connect a slower speed is through a WAN miniport PPPOE. Verizon Tech support has been no help. I tried the Windows XP restore but it does not work either. I need help to get back to a normal but slow 1500/384 speed.

    Skywalker

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,382
    ok did you try just installing a new connection also with that modem you dont' need install any pppoe software your modem dials in and out it's brought modem+ router http://www.westell.com/content/veriz...userguidec.pdf if you need the plugin goto www.adobe.com
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    TCP properties for IP = 64.222.40.65 ()
    Browser/OS = Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.0.3705; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)
    Notes: Read the Analyzer FAQ if the above is not your IP address.

    TCP options string = 020405a00103030201010402
    MTU = 1480
    MTU is optimized for Windows XP PPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
    MSS = 1440
    MSS is optimized for Windows XP PPPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for maximum throughput.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 192512
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 2 bits (scale factor of 4)
    Unscaled Receive Window = 48128

    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    506880 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    253440 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    126720 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63360 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 7700.48 kbps (962.56 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 3080.192 kbps (385.024 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 55 hops

    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)



    23029924 connections tested since 03.10.2001.
    Analyzer version: 1.06 - last updated 04.12.2005.

    I use Zonealarms

  4. #4
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,382
    Try thease in the sg optmizer below me to download and install


    check - custom settings
    network adapter selection -
    check modify all adapters
    maxmtu 1480
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive 25920
    MTU Discovery - yes
    Black Hole Detect - no
    Selective Acks - yes
    Max Dup ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 nothing is checked

    Other Settings tab:

    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    Lan Browsing Speedup - optimized

    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect.



    VERY IMPORTANT TO DO THE FOLLOWING:

    1. Under your LAN connection - properties - general tab, uninstall all the protocols there that you do not need. For a stand alone pc all you need is Internet Protocol TCP/IP.

    2. Open IE and select tools - internet options - connections - LAN settings, make sure NOTHING there is checked.

    3. ALWAYS connect your modem via ethernet (NIC) and make sure you have the latest drivers for your NIC from the manufacturer and set your duplex mode to "auto". If you are using a router make sure you have the latest firmware.

    4. Clean out your temporary internet files with CrapCleaner.

    5. Power cycle your modem i.e. unplug it for at least 15 seconds.

    6. Download, update and scan with SpyBot S&D 1.4 http://majorgeeks.com/download2471.html EXACTLY as I explain HERE http://lavasoft.element5.com/support/download& Ad-Aware SE 1.06 EXACTLY as I explain HERE to remove any spyware then install and update SpywareBlaster 3.4 http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.htmlto stay spyware FREE. YOU MUST USE BOTH AD AWARE & SPYBOT TO ENSURE YOU ARE SPYWARE FREE SINCE ONE FINDS WHAT THE OTHER MISSES. If these 2 programs find a lot of things then please post a HijackThis 1.99.1 log for us to look at.

    7. Make sure you do the faster web page tweak in our Help & Tips page.

    8. If you have Zone Alarm as a firewall uninstall it and search your pc for the left over files.

    9. Install Kerio Personal Firewall 2.1.5, it's FREE and uses next to no resources.

    10. Do a FREE online virus scan from Kaspersky Labs.

    11. Make sure you have ALL of the latest Windows Updates.
    Comptia a+ n+

  5. #5

    Unhappy

    I did the things you told me to do and this is what the analyzer says:

    Can I do anything to increase the speed to be closer to 1500/386 with Verizon DSL. I am using Windows XP Pro SP2. I have Intel (R) Pro Set II

    Skywalker

    TCP options string = 0204059801010402
    MTU = 1472
    MTU is not fully optimized for broadband. Consider increasing your MTU to 1500 for better throughput.
    MSS = 1432
    MSS is not fully optimized for broadband (although it might work well for slower connections). Consider increasing your MTU value.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 65535
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 65535

    Note: Under Windows 9x, if you have RWIN set to any other value, and the Analyzer reports 65535 you might need to install the MS Vtcp386 fix.
    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    504064 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    252032 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    126016 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63008 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 2621.4 kbps (327.675 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 1048.56 kbps (131.07 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 54 hops

    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)

  6. #6
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,382
    did you reboot after saving changes because your settings haven't changed in the optimizer or they are not right also redo the settings and use a 1500 for mtu just trust me cause your mtu is off now
    Comptia a+ n+

  7. #7
    I redid the settings and rebooted. This is what the analyzer says unless I am doing something else wrong.

    Skywalker

    TCP options string = 020405ac01010402
    MTU = 1492
    MTU is optimized for PPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
    MSS = 1452
    MSS is optimized for PPPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for maximum throughput.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 26280
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 26280

    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    511104 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    255552 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    127776 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63888 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 1051.2 kbps (131.4 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 420.48 kbps (52.56 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 54 hops

    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)





    23219133 connections tested since 03.10.2001.
    Analyzer version: 1.06 - last updated 04.12.2005

  8. #8
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,382
    one more change your mtu is good but chnage default recive window to 63888


    you can use either 1480 or 1492 for pppoe in xp so your looking good
    Comptia a+ n+

  9. #9
    Junior Member Lonaka6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Berkshires, Ma.
    Posts
    7

    max MTU 4 verizon is...

    Hi, ppl, i also have a verizon DSL connection 100.0Mbbs, and u canot get a better max MTU than 1492 i've tried everythig, verizon tech said it will default backwards if u try, and believe me it does...lol, also a verizon dsl modem 2200(wirespeed) which is what i use, does infact connect using a WAN miniport, using a tcp/ip stack. I believe my max MTU is currently 1480 and i dont have or seem to have any problems with downloads, besides that if you yourself are having download speeds that are slower than stated, its most likely because the server you are downloading from is limiting it so as to allow many users to simultaniaously do the same, or there are many users at the same time u are downloading; so it doesnt boggggg down the server or shut it down. BTw,, if you are trying to do other things with your connection while downloading that 2 will affect your speeed. heck, at least you have a better TTL than me...(119) , it used to be 55, back on 10-31-04, but since then i'm back at TTL=119. I'll post my results after this post. need to check it, its been a while...

    Anyway hope this helps,
    A dedicated line verizonDSL user 3 yrs now+ 0 problems and is always ON...
    lakelakebr

  10. #10
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,382
    1480 is a good mtu it's xp mtu for any broadband connection if you want to try it at 1492 i have seen it where people got a boost with the longer value download the optimizr and use the mtu 1500 hopefully it will rever it to 1492 for mtu since i belive the westall modem you have will set in on 1492 if you have on routed pppoe mode...


    your on a dslpppoe connection that's why mtu can't be higher then 1492 the only reason they drop the 8 bytes is due to autehication
    Comptia a+ n+

  11. #11
    Junior Member Lonaka6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Berkshires, Ma.
    Posts
    7
    here's my results...Custum-Built HP-Compaq Presario, ASUStek Oxford 1.x/ P4 3.4Ghz (x2) w/ 1GB RAM, O.S.= XPpro SP2 & True IE v6, no verizon addon software (it'll bog u down) you really dont need it w/ xp anyhow, using the original realtek NIC drivers it came with(onboard NIC).

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    TCP options string = 020405a001010402
    MTU = 1480
    MTU is optimized for Windows XP PPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
    MSS = 1440
    MSS is optimized for Windows XP PPPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for maximum throughput.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 65535
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 65535

    Note: Under Windows 9x, if you have RWIN set to any other value, and the Analyzer reports 65535 you might need to install the MS Vtcp386 fix.
    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    506880 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    253440 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    126720 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63360 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 2621.4 kbps (327.675 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 1048.56 kbps (131.07 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 119 hops

    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    And yes if you change the MTU to 1492 even with the Optimizer, it will revert back after a reboot, at first ithought the same thing that i was doing something wrong but nope. The Optimizer program does work fine too, just not for that on a verizon DSL using a westell 2200 modem. If i can help you anyfurther drop a note...
    lakelakebr

  12. #12
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,382
    try thease you only need the mtu to 1492 it should work to 1492

    Try thease in the sg optmizer below me to download and install

    check - custom settings
    network adapter selection -
    check modify all adapters
    maxmtu 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive 63888
    MTU Discovery - yes
    Black Hole Detect - no
    Selective Acks - yes
    Max Dup ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 nothing is checked
    Other Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    Lan Browsing Speedup - optimized
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect.

    VERY IMPORTANT TO DO THE FOLLOWING:
    1. Under your LAN connection - properties - general tab, uninstall all the protocols there that you do not need. For a stand alone pc all you need is Internet Protocol TCP/IP.
    2. Open IE and select tools - internet options - connections - LAN settings, make sure NOTHING there is checked.
    3. ALWAYS connect your modem via ethernet (NIC) and make sure you have the latest drivers for your NIC from the manufacturer and set your duplex mode to "auto". If you are using a router make sure you have the latest firmware.
    4. Clean out your temporary internet files with CrapCleaner.
    5. Power cycle your modem i.e. unplug it for at least 15 seconds.
    6. Download, update and scan with SpyBot S&D 1.4 EXACTLY as mnosteele has explained HERE & Ad-Aware SE 1.06 EXACTLY as mnosteele has explained HERE to remove any spyware then install and update SpywareBlaster 3.4 to stay spyware FREE. YOU MUST USE BOTH AD AWARE & SPYBOT TO ENSURE YOU ARE SPYWARE FREE SINCE ONE FINDS WHAT THE OTHER MISSES. If these 2 programs find a lot of things then please post a HijackThis 1.99.1 log for us to look at.
    7. Make sure you do the faster web page tweak in our Help & Tips page.
    8. If you have Zone Alarm as a firewall uninstall it and search your pc for the left over files.
    9. Install Kerio Personal Firewall 2.1.5, it's FREE and uses next to no resources.
    10. Do a FREE online virus scan from Kaspersky Webscan, make sure to check the option to use the EXTENDED DATABASE.
    11. Make sure you have ALL of the latest Windows Updates.

    8) ;D
    Comptia a+ n+

Similar Threads

  1. Verizon DSL speed
    By dysfunction in forum US Broadband Providers
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-08-06, 07:29 AM
  2. Verizon dsl 3/768
    By dallas22 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-06-05, 03:15 PM
  3. verizon dsl running below dialup speed
    By helgatheviking in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-14-05, 04:29 PM
  4. Verizon DSL 3 Mbps/768 Kbps
    By illusionist in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-07-05, 01:31 PM
  5. Comcast and Verizon email problem
    By carl in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-29-05, 08:17 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •