Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 73

Thread: THIS , is why comcast sucks...

  1. #41
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,006
    Heh.

    Your troubles are the same as anionweed's? What have ya tried to fix it?

  2. #42
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Heh.

    Your troubles are the same as anionweed's? What have ya tried to fix it?
    yeah, its mainly the cable service and internet provider that bothers me.

    I use my cell phone anyway for phone lines..its way cheaper.

  3. #43
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,424
    I like Comcast..been good for me, I switched from DSL last year. I didn't have a problem with DSL either...it's just, well...Comcast is crushing DSL with their speeds. Ever since Comcast came out with Powerboost....DSL can't touch it speedwise. For some people, it's not important, DSL is fine, certainly for 15 bucks/month it's quite affordable.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  4. #44
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,424
    Comcast Powerboost...I'm loving these speeds.

    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #45
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,173
    TW as we all know took over Adelphia a while back.. well seems they are crossing over everything about now so the service has gone to the dogs.. my ping is so high in the evenings and latency is so bad I'd be better off trying to play BF2 with dialup! its like this all over the East coast.

    soon as the hops on a trace hit twc-core.net the pings start to raise and goes to hell!

  6. #46
    Comcast is only responsible for traffic on it's own network. Your post already indicates it was AT&T routers in the traceroute. Guess what, Comcast is know for majority of all its traffic to pass thru AT&T Backbone. Welcome to the no frills pricing of Bandwidth. FiOS is a network built from strach. Totally new. I 've had it for 6 months. Great in game pings to west coast and east coast servers.



    Quote Originally Posted by AnionWeed
    chat id : 1f20b3ce-771c-4722-9517-adfed6833d20
    Problem : Connection/Speed
    Tim > Hello, Thank you for contacting Comcast, how can I help you today?
    An > i'm getting bad ping times in games
    Tim > One moment.
    An > hello
    An > ?
    Tim > Yes An one moment I'm running some tests on your modem here.
    An > ever since i got assigned to a new dns server i have been getting bad ping times in games around 6pm till early morning
    Tim > Yes your connection is slow, it may be some problem with the line.
    An > it's been determined by both me AND a comcast technician that the problem is not my line or computer
    Tim > Ok, you had a technician out there earlier did you?
    An > when i run traceroute tests i ping fine untill i get to addrresses w/ att.net
    An > i talked to one over the phone
    Tim > Ok, if you talked to one over the phone, it is impossible for him/her to determine if the line is a problem.
    An > he ran test on my modem, and had me run tests from my modem
    Tim > Right.
    Tim > And what was the solution then?
    An > no solution yet, that is why i am talking to you
    An > a truck was suppose to come to my house one morning but never did
    Tim > Ok.
    Tim > Did you call in when the truck missed the apptment?
    An > as a matter of fact the only time any technician came to my house in behalf of comcast is when they had to come charge me for the first month of comcast
    Tim > I'm not seeing any technician scheduled on your account here.
    An > no, i have to work, i don't have time to wait for the truck to come at a later time then hat was schedulled
    An > is it possible for you to assign me to a different dns server?
    Tim > Ok, well unfortunetly if I cannot schedule a technician for you there's not much more I can do here.
    Tim > No
    An > so this is pointless, you can't fix my issue right?
    An > or... your issues
    An > if i'm having a problem with the connection it should be your problem too
    Tim > I can't assign dns servers, I can send a tech out to determine what the problem is and how far down it goes.
    Tim > I can't assign dns servers, I can send a tech out to determine what the problem is and how far down it goes.
    An > because i am your customer
    An > not to mention that i pay almost 70$$ a month for a 6 mbps line and when i most need it i can only get 3-4 mbps and pings on the high 200's
    Tim > Well An i'll send a technician out to look at those lines regardless, hopefully he will go from there and won't need to go in the house or contact you or anything.
    Tim > That's all I can do if you cannot be home for the technician when he visits.
    An > i've heard that before, but no change in anything
    Tim > Ok, well that's all I can do then.
    Tim > Sorry.
    An > can you tell me when the technician will come take a look at the lines?
    Tim > One moment.
    An > also can you send one to look at the lines around 7 or 8?... that's when the conenction gets slower and pings get high
    Tim > I don't think any tech's work that late, but I'll see.
    An > yeah and that's the problem
    An > there's never anyone from comcast around when the problem happens
    An > and when everything goes back to normal one tech from comcast comes and verifies everything when there's no problem
    An > that is why comcast doesn't know about this problem
    Tim > Well chances are if it's an issue with that att.net, where your tracert shows it slows down, and if that is in the comcast network, they will be working to resolve it.
    An > but how? if they won't see that problem if they check it in the rearly mornings when everyone is working and not using the internet?
    Tim > And comcast will know about the issue, as long as more than one customer is reporting it, which they would if it is indeed a line issue.
    An > i pay for 6 mbps line, it is advertized everywhere, however i rarely get to enjoy a good connection
    Tim > Right, I understand that An, and I apologize.
    An > well most people don't play games online to know about the problem
    An > and the few that do, do report it
    Tim > Yes I am aware of that.
    Tim > And actually there is a vast amount of online gamers that play during the time where it slows down for you.
    An > at the moment i can't play any games online due to ping issues
    Tim > Right.
    An > i have two other friends w/ the same problem
    An > yeah but you know what?
    An > even if there is a lot of gamers playing around the same time i do
    An > it is comcast's responsibility to provide us w/ a good connection
    An > because they advertize it
    Tim > That is correct.
    An > false advertizement is illegal isn't it?
    Tim > And like I said before, if the att.net network where your tracert is slowing down, is inside the comcast network, it will be resolved.
    Tim > Because it is our issue.
    Tim > If not, we have no control over that particular network, so it is out of our hands.
    An > i've been having these problem for a while now, i've called comcast many times about this check your records if you want to
    Tim > However, I believe that address IS in fact inside the network.
    An > no, it should still be your problem
    Tim > I'm sorry?
    An > why do you think you have a TECH SUPPORT?
    Tim > Comcast isn't responsible for other ISP's networks An.
    Tim > Unfortunetly.
    Tim > Analyst has closed chat and left the room
    An > when i run trace router to comcast.net, i only get bad ping times in att.net addresses
    An > isn't att a comcast network?
    An > i believe that before comcast was comcast it was called att worldnet?

    ---------

    he closed the connection on me, thx alot comcast tech support!
    Tradewiz50

  7. #47
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    Comcast Support Rep

    Just to let you all know I am a comcast CSR (Customer Service Rep). I do agree with all the complaints cause I get a first hand view to all of them and there are many things you have no idea about. But I'm sick I have to work for a company that treats their empoyees the same way they treat their customers. Any hoo feel free to email me with any of your thoughts or what ever and I'll try to answer them as best as I can.
    ccccsrep@hotmail.com

  8. #48
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,006
    Quote Originally Posted by ccccsrep
    Just to let you all know I am a comcast CSR (Customer Service Rep). I do agree with all the complaints cause I get a first hand view to all of them and there are many things you have no idea about. But I'm sick I have to work for a company that treats their empoyees the same way they treat their customers. Any hoo feel free to email me with any of your thoughts or what ever and I'll try to answer them as best as I can.
    ccccsrep@hotmail.com

    Sounds like your a disgruntled employee or trying to get people's info.

    Comcast isnt bad to their customers, but they can only do so much, their service has been very good to me and others, its deffinately improved from when AT&T ran teh calbe in this area.

  9. #49
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    Csr

    No, I'm not ouit for peoples info I just want to make them aware that us CSR get all the **** calls and things that have went rong. We have minnimal calls that are for praise. Some areas are horribal and some actually have good service. All I want to do is give people some general help of things they can do if their service is up and down so they woun't have to call tech support and get pissed off. I actually like to just help with no extange of any info. Just via this forum.

    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Sounds like your a disgruntled employee or trying to get people's info.

    Comcast isnt bad to their customers, but they can only do so much, their service has been very good to me and others, its deffinately improved from when AT&T ran teh calbe in this area.

  10. #50
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,006
    Quote Originally Posted by ccccsrep
    No, I'm not ouit for peoples info I just want to make them aware that us CSR get all the **** calls and things that have went rong. We have minnimal calls that are for praise. Some areas are horribal and some actually have good service. All I want to do is give people some general help of things they can do if their service is up and down so they woun't have to call tech support and get pissed off. I actually like to just help with no extange of any info. Just via this forum.

    Thats cool, good to have the tech guys on here. Not trying to be an ass to ya, just with the line about emailing you I wanted to be sure. Wouldnt want people handing out user name and pass.


    Oh, and Welcome to SG!

  11. #51
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    39
    comcast is pretty good to it's workers, i have gotten about a 3 dollar raise over the past 3 months. free service, get to take my truck home, plus the benefits package. also maybe you should try taking some person to person face to face abuse? yeah cs said this and that, your telling me that they are wrong?

  12. #52
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    Csr

    Well like I said some aeras are good some are bad, most of PA is good, bucks has a few major problems and new castle is the same. Dallis most of it ios good but Texis has some problems witch have been preaty much worked out. Flordia (broward and Dade) are horribal but that cause they get so many bad storms techs can't keep up. In the last year NEVER have had a raise, we only get bennifits from our 3rd party employer. Now they are taking away some of our help trees cause it was not comcast designed. They finnally gave us a provisioning tool about 4 months ago. They never gave us dispatch numbers or any other contact info. We had to find it out all by asking other departments. When our tools go down they don't usally come back up for a week cause thats how slow comcast is to get them fixed. Ohh and one Positive thing now is that if we must book a tech and your in the Philly aera and it will be more then 4 days untill a tech can so for total outage only we can request a date earlyer. Ohh as well when things need to get esscallated it can take upto 72 hours, how ever it can take another 48 hours on top of that cause they usally are backed up. so Expect 3-5 days (BUSINESS DAYS). Any hoo, I'll add more tomorrow! Have a good night!

  13. #53
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,424
    CCC...Welcome to Speedguide. Just a note...as Yard was hinting...you may want to edit your e-mail address in your post. Having it in standard joe@cool.net format...the harvesting spiders will get it..and you'll be getting lots of spam. Better, if you have to post your e-mail addy, to post it as something like joe at cool dot net

    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  14. #54
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    Csr

    Hey thanks for the info about putting my email as compleatly spelt out. Thanks again!

  15. #55
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by travis2144
    comcast is pretty good to it's workers, i have gotten about a 3 dollar raise over the past 3 months. free service, get to take my truck home, plus the benefits package. also maybe you should try taking some person to person face to face abuse? yeah cs said this and that, your telling me that they are wrong?
    yep, I totally agree with you...Comcast is very good to me as well

  16. #56
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2
    Has anyone resolved the ping issue with comcast? I'm still getting pings in the 100s since comcast took over adelphia, and like AnionWeed. I went thru the same crap, 3 service techs with NO resolution. 5 phone support calls each about 1hr (No Where).

  17. #57
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,173
    Quote Originally Posted by rmd62163 View Post
    Has anyone resolved the ping issue with comcast? I'm still getting pings in the 100s since comcast took over adelphia, and like AnionWeed. I went thru the same crap, 3 service techs with NO resolution. 5 phone support calls each about 1hr (No Where).
    yeah all is well with mine..took them 3 weeks with what ever was wrong but its great now.. just waiting on the power boost to kick in.

  18. #58
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,006
    Quote Originally Posted by rmd62163 View Post
    Has anyone resolved the ping issue with comcast? I'm still getting pings in the 100s since comcast took over adelphia, and like AnionWeed. I went thru the same crap, 3 service techs with NO resolution. 5 phone support calls each about 1hr (No Where).
    Pings of 100ish to where?

    Post a new thread and include your analyzer results, you can find the test on the speedguide main page.

  19. #59
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2
    I'm getting the 100 to comcast.net. I did have 3 day this week where it was doing fine, 25 30ms pings. I was ecstatic, then they where gone! Back to 80-100s now. My SG shows great results for D/U test but the pings SUK. something with the routing I guess. I just ran a 2nd ping to comcast got a different address with good pings. I'll paste some test YoS, What do you think, Am I expecting to much from camcast?

    1st ping test

    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=111ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=90ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=132ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=79ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=87ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=116ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=86ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=78ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=78ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=116ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=78ms TTL=51
    Reply from 216.148.227.202: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=51
    and on and on........................................



    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\>tracert comcast.net

    Tracing route to comcast.net [204.127.195.15]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 10 ms 9 ms * 68.86.146.165
    4 8 ms 12 ms * 68.86.100.165
    5 9 ms 9 ms * 68.86.100.158
    6 18 ms 18 ms 35 ms 12.116.5.17
    7 81 ms 81 ms 81 ms tbr2-p013901.phlpa.ip.att.net [12.123.137.222]
    8 106 ms 84 ms 85 ms tbr2-cl3641.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.10.93]
    9 82 ms 85 ms 81 ms tbr1-cl22.cgcil.ip.att.net [12.122.9.133]
    10 82 ms 82 ms 82 ms tbr1-cl1.sffca.ip.att.net [12.122.10.6]
    11 81 ms 81 ms 81 ms gar4-p300.sffca.ip.att.net [12.123.13.174]
    12 79 ms 79 ms 88 ms idf22-gsr12-1-pos-6-0.rwc1.attens.net [12.122.255.222]
    13 87 ms 80 ms 81 ms rwcsbix11-1-6.attbi.com [63.241.85.238]
    14 * * * Request timed out.
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 91 ms 78 ms 79 ms www.comcast.net [204.127.195.15]

    Trace complete.

    C:\>





    SpeedGuide.net Speed Test Results
    13556 kbps down (~13.56 Mbps, 1655 KB/s)↓
    670 kbps up (~0.67 Mbps, 82 KB/s)↑
    5120 KB downloaded in 3.094 seconds
    5120 KB uploaded in 62.578 seconds
    Tested on: 2007.01.21 17:28 EST
    Tested from: gamegeneration.net
    Test Link: http://www.speedguide.net/speedtest/...st=H6APFR5UUZH
    Provider: pa.comcast.net
    Location: US


    2nd ping test

    C:\Documents and Settings\Robert\Desktop>ping -t comcast.net

    Pinging comcast.net [204.127.205.8] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 204.127.205.8: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=53
    Reply from 204.127.205.8: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=53
    Reply from 204.127.205.8: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=53
    Reply from 204.127.205.8: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=53
    Reply from 204.127.205.8: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=53
    Reply from 204.127.205.8: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=53
    Reply from 204.127.205.8: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=53
    Reply from 204.127.205.8: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=53
    Reply from 204.127.205.8: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=53
    and on and on......

  20. #60
    Elite Member trogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    12,323
    The timed out at hop 2 may mean your modem is sitting on a strong magnetic field, and your ping times waving like the Northern Lights.

Similar Threads

  1. Opinons on building this system ...
    By Mytflyguy in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 08-08-03, 08:24 PM
  2. Why does Tom Hardware have 5900 beating ATI 9800?
    By Ghosthunter in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-21-03, 05:12 PM
  3. 2000 to XP?
    By [fastdetect] in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-26-02, 11:01 PM
  4. Comcast and AT&T merge.
    By BlueEP in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-20-01, 10:59 AM
  5. Comcast buys ATT Broadband
    By HalfLifer in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-19-01, 09:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •