Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Max length of cable to cable modem

  1. #1

    Max length of cable to cable modem

    Does anyone know long of a cable i can run to my cable modem with out losing connectivity?
    I know some of it depends on the quality of the cable, but lets assume I'm using the top of the line cable.
    I need to run a new cable to the other side of my house and don't want to have to pay the cable company to do it.
    I need to go at least 25-30 ft. Is it possible?
    <-- I love this icon

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,330
    Quote Originally Posted by Panama Red
    I need to go at least 25-30 ft. Is it possible?
    <-- I love this icon
    Shouldn't be a problem. Rusty on my coax max length memories...but for coax networks, max length was something like 600 feet. (185 meters...just looked it up)

    I'd wager it's the same for the WAN side of cable internet.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat
    Shouldn't be a problem. Rusty on my coax max length memories...but for coax networks, max length was something like 600 feet. (185 meters...just looked it up)

    I'd wager it's the same for the WAN side of cable internet.
    I'm just getting into that now in class ..... and you'll be fine

  4. #4
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,173
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat
    Shouldn't be a problem. Rusty on my coax max length memories...but for coax networks, max length was something like 600 feet. (185 meters...just looked it up)

    I'd wager it's the same for the WAN side of cable internet.

    Yep your exactly right...after around 600feet ya start to lose that "push" ability of the feed.

  5. #5
    Advanced Member chpalmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Kitsap co. Wa
    Posts
    549
    600 feet if your signals at your drop are good. If the signals are already near the low end on the downstream then you most likely would have problems at 600 feet. The upstream side would not be as critical due to the fact that the cable is not as lossy at the frequencies used by the upstream side.

    The 25 - 30feet you mentioned should not have any adverse affects, although its always better to do the entire run with no splices...


    I'd wager it's the same for the WAN side of cable internet.
    Ethernet side? 100 yards max recomended. your results may vary
    Never take any crap off an inanimate object!!

    Never send email to this address: spam@euclidian.com. This is a spam trap and everyone sending any email to this address will be blacklisted.

  6. #6
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,381
    Quote Originally Posted by chpalmer
    600 feet if your signals at your drop are good. If the signals are already near the low end on the downstream then you most likely would have problems at 600 feet. The upstream side would not be as critical due to the fact that the cable is not as lossy at the frequencies used by the upstream side.

    The 25 - 30feet you mentioned should not have any adverse affects, although its always better to do the entire run with no splices...



    Ethernet side? 100 yards max recomended. your results may vary

    use a hub/repeter after that 100 meters you could extended it more just rember the the 543 rule
    Comptia a+ n+

  7. #7
    I'm White wee96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,305
    Actually 600ft is way too long, considering at 68f with typical RG-56 cable you will lose 5-7db per 100ft at the upper portion of the spectrum (where modems downstream channels are). You also have to take into account the loss you get when splitting. If your going to run a direct line from the first splitter off the drop, it can obviously be longer than if your splitting it several times.

Similar Threads

  1. What is the best DOCSIS compliant cable modem?
    By CoolCat in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 03-19-13, 01:05 PM
  2. Connecting cable modem with long cable
    By pewterbird2002 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-18-03, 06:47 PM
  3. Need help with Router Setup on Cable Modem
    By Irnard in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-25-02, 07:27 AM
  4. High pings & packet loss at cable modem
    By apmonte in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-27-01, 12:10 PM
  5. Cable modem or ISP ???
    By Rampage2884 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-07-01, 05:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •