Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 48

Thread: For Small Business Server 2003 users who do NOT want to be a Domain Controller.

  1. #1
    SG DC Team Member Paft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    5,715

    For Small Business Server 2003 users who do NOT want to be a Domain Controller.

    The service "SBCore" is responsible for (after 1 week) rebooting your computer every hour until you become a domain controller. To avoid this, you need to create a file that will taskkill sbscrexe.exe until it no longer automatically restarts.

    Here is a C++ example.

    Code:
    #include <iostream>
    
    int main()
    {
        while(1)
        {
            system("taskkill /F /MI sbscrexe.exe");
        }
    
        return(0);
    }
    Hope this helps other people who had my problem.

  2. #2
    Certified SG Addict CableDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,875
    That's just weird.

  3. #3
    Advanced Member smartegyptian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    U.S.A
    Posts
    678
    I been managing SBS never seen that prob wait for Sid or Cat they might have a clue



    Quote Originally Posted by Paft
    The service "SBCore" is responsible for (after 1 week) rebooting your computer every hour until you become a domain controller. To avoid this, you need to create a file that will taskkill sbscrexe.exe until it no longer automatically restarts.

    Here is a C++ example.

    Code:
    #include <iostream>
    
    int main()
    {
        while(1)
        {
            system("taskkill /F /MI sbscrexe.exe");
        }
    
        return(0);
    }
    Hope this helps other people who had my problem.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Sid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Hell's Kitchen
    Posts
    5,173
    I can't think of any reason not to promote a sbs server to a DC.

  5. #5
    SG DC Team Member Paft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    5,715
    Quote Originally Posted by Sid
    I can't think of any reason not to promote a sbs server to a DC.
    Bloat, mainly. No reason to become a DC with no domain.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Sid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Hell's Kitchen
    Posts
    5,173
    Quote Originally Posted by Paft
    Bloat, mainly. No reason to become a DC with no domain.
    That kills a lot of the functionality imho.

  7. #7
    SG DC Team Member Paft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    5,715
    Quote Originally Posted by Sid
    That kills a lot of the functionality imho.
    I'm in this for IIS 6, mainly, and to learn more about that side of things. I don't have nor want a domain at this point.

    Yeah, it kills the functionality, but then again, I wouldn't use it anyway.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Sid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Hell's Kitchen
    Posts
    5,173
    Come to think of it, I was experimenting a while ago and demoted an sbs server to a standard server and never had the problem you are experiencing. Did you just stop the install when it came time to making it a dc?

  9. #9
    SG DC Team Member Paft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    5,715
    Bingo, Sid. I installed the desktop, and then canceled the second stage. Installed IIS seperately.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Sid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Hell's Kitchen
    Posts
    5,173
    Try finishing the install to a DC then demote it. That's what I did and it never gave me any problems.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1
    Pafts original post drew me to this thread after a google search.

    I also didn't want to have to bother with this crap that my legitimate copy of Windows SBS couldn't run unless it was a DC. As it happens, we already had a second licence of SBS and simple wanted to re-use a currently un-used licence of SBS to implement a webserver, but without all the bloat that the SBS install affords.

    The first thing I did was to install the server normally, the first chance you get to cancel the install of SBS bloat is when Windows starts for the first time after install, I seized my opportunity.

    What I didn't see however was the quite frankly ridiculous scenario whereby Microsoft had decided to force restart the server every hour and NET SEND spam the network "this server doesn't comply with licensing requirements" across the entire network. Microsoft can stick that.

    Anyway, like I said it was Pafts post that brought me here to the forum, and I've found a slightly more elegant solution to this problem rather than just aggressively killing the process until Windows gives up trying to start it again, and I'd like to share it in the hope that Google will re-index and pick it up for others to use. You may have noticed this service cannot be disabled via the MMC snap-in.

    My search term on google was: how to stop the SBCore service

    Anyway, down to business…
    - Tools you'll need – Process Explorer from www.sysInternals.com

    As you probably know, you have a service called SBCore or "SBS Core Services", which executes the following process: C:\WINDOWS\system32\sbscrexe.exe

    If you kill it, it just restarts – and if you try and stop it you are told Access Denied.

    If you fire up Process Explorer, you can select the process and Suspend it, now we can start to disable the thing.

    Run RegEdit32.exe and expand the nodes until you reach the following hive / key:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SBCore

    Right click this, hit permissions and give the "Administrators" group on the local machine full access ( don't forget to replace permissions on child nodes ). F5 in regedit and you'll see all of the values and data under this key.

    Select the "Start" DWORD and change it from 2 to 4 – this basically sets the service to the "Disabled" state as far as the MMC services snap-in (and windows for that matter) is concerned.

    Next, adjust the permissions on the file C:\WINDOWS\system32\sbscrexe.exe so that EVERYONE account is denied any sort of access to this file.

    Then go back to process explorer, and kill the sbscrexe.exe process, if it doesn't restart – congratulations!

    Load up the services MMC snap-in and you should find that "SBS Core Services" is stopped and marked as Disabled.

    Regards,


  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1

    Thanks!

    Just registered to say a big THANK YOU for your help!

    You kick ass!

  13. #13
    Registered to say THANK YOU SO MUCH! What kind of idiots would sell a product raising the minimum software requirements, so the end user can't do what they want, then not tell them about it? (well, we know who...)

    I would assume this works, and I will try it out tomorrow. My setup includes 2 Windows 2003 SBS servers, one running the domain [controller] and the other running a website and NAT router. I don't want any domain stuff running on the NAt router machine, as it is visible on the internet as our DNS server.

    Thanks again, you totally rock

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1
    I would like to say thank you as well.

    My only problem now is that I can't add licenses... When I click on licensing in the management console, it gives me "to add more licenses, use the add license wizard in windows server 2003 for small business server". How are you guys adding licenses? I'm finding that only some users are able to access a share on the SBS, after that it is locking people out because of insuffient licensing so I guess I need to add my CALs somehow.

  15. #15
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,426
    Do everything with the Small Business Management Console...resist the urge to do things manually like you're on regular server...with Small Biz...you should do everything through the Small Business Server Management Console.

    Click on your start button...look right up near the top...you'll see "Server Management" with a gray computer tower next to it.

    Once you open that...take a good look at it...get familiar with it. This should be your starting page to do most everything you need to do, for each time you walk up to your server or remote in.

    At the main home page..you'll see "Licensing".
    Click on it..you'll see various things including "Add Licenses" which walks you through a step by step..you'll get to the point where you enter the new 5CAL pack key you purchased.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1
    Another user registering solely to say thanks for the tip to Blarghie.

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1
    Also just registered to say thanks!

  18. #18

    Thumbs up

    Me too, I just registered and just want to say THANK YOU.

    The benifit of SBS 2003 is the price point, it is much cheaper than getting Server 2003 standard or enterprise edition, and has more features than Server 2003 web edition.

    I ran into below bugs with add on domain features, where I should have installed SP1 first before setting it up as domain controller. I was forced to setup the server as domain controller in the first place, but I didn't really need it. Those additional domain controller features just slow down the entire system and causing even more problems.

    I finally reinstalled everything without the domain controller part, it is a much better system now. Read below for the issues:

    Your network connection may be reset when you try to perform a file operation on a remote Windows Server 2003-based computer
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/843515

    A domain controller that is running Microsoft Windows Server 2003 may stop responding for 2 to 15 minutes several times a day
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/908370

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1
    thanks for these instructions. i am in a little bit of a bind now. i executed the instructions over an RDP thru windows standard VPN session. disabling sbcore worked fine. demoting the DC worked fine. i restarted the machine now I can't login (RDP thru VPN). will i have any problem if i drive over to the server tomorrow and try to login? any suggestions to try to login remotely?

    thanks in advance

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1

    question

    does it eventually stop loading??? I did the taskkill from a command prompt about 10 times and i rebooted...now i don't see it...will it eventually restart itself???

Similar Threads

  1. Would you be interested in any of the following courses???
    By JawZ in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 66
    Last Post: 03-11-09, 04:38 PM
  2. Security and Encryption FAQ Revision 15 by Doctor Who
    By Marine06 in forum Network Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-03-05, 12:14 AM
  3. New SG TeamSpeak server
    By YeOldeStonecat in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 11-13-04, 03:13 PM
  4. NT.4 PDC to 2003 Domain
    By salara in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-18-04, 08:01 PM
  5. Port List (in case you ever wondered)
    By FunK in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-20-01, 01:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •