What is this?? [Archive] - SpeedGuide.net Broadband Community

View Full Version : What is this??


EvilAjax
06-05-01, 02:49 AM
Removed pic

jeremyboycool
06-05-01, 05:21 AM
What is this?

That is a Zonealarm pro program alert:p :p :p

blebs
06-05-01, 06:43 AM
Do you always get the same address in the alert? It's a new program trying to connect bbplanet.net, but what it is or why it's trying is something you'll have to do some detective work on.:)

As long as it is coming up as "Unknown process" I Would Not allow it to have access to the internet!!!

Dakota
06-05-01, 08:06 AM
Weird one. It's some server in Philadelphia, owned by a company based out of Palo Alto CA, and admin'd from Mass. Look here (http://www.network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=WWWHOIS&servlook=209.237.160.161&hops=20&host=4.24.10.177&B2=Submit&domain=4.24.10.177&server=rs.internic.net&shared=ON&rootserver=c)

Matt615
06-05-01, 08:57 AM
If you dont know what it is than dont let it out. Check the little box that says remember my answer.

EvilAjax
06-05-01, 03:24 PM
The weird thing is... that if I choose no... the internet stops responding... Weird...

EvilAjax
06-05-01, 03:25 PM
That bbnplanet crap again? When I used Sygates I got so many reports of that trying to get in... WTF!?

blebs
06-05-01, 10:25 PM
You might want to check with Ken and see if he's seen or heard of this one before. I don't know what to tell you unless it's some sort of start up program that runs, but I doubt it. Yeah, check with Ken!:confused:

EvilAjax
06-06-01, 11:35 PM
No Trojans. I will try the adaware now. Hey do you know if DAP works right with IE 6 version 2469? Because everytime I click a link to download a file the current browser freezes and the only way I could end it is by hitting alt ctrl del. Oh and I have a RAMdrive setup... Buggy told me he had the same problem and that you helped him fix it...

EvilAjax
06-09-01, 06:07 AM
It was getting me ticked because it just kept on popping up so I clicked more info then did a who is this and god this
Reverse DNS Lookup of 216.200.194.21
The computer name ("domain name") identified for this IP address is:

216.200.194.21.homestead.com

(Note: if you see "DNSName" enclosed in square brackets, instead of a computer name, that means no reverse DNS entry was found for this IP address, and so the domain name could not be identified.)

Whois Lookup of 216.200.194.21
The following information was obtained from the "whois" database for the registry with which 216.200.194.21.homestead.com is registered. This gives administrative and contact information about 216.200.194.21.homestead.com.

If no domain name was identified, or if it was not possible to determine which registry the IP address is registered under, and for certain foreign domains that are not currently supported, the information below was obtained from the ARIN whois database. In that case, the information is not about the specific computer at 216.200.194.21. The information in that case is administrative and contact information for the "upstream provider" that administers a block of IP addresses, of which 216.200.194.21 is only one.

Particularly in the case of ARIN database results, the whois information below includes administrative information about a group of IP addresses that are all administered together. They may be administered together because the computers are all owned by the same person or organization, but they may not be. For example, an ISP may administer a large block of IP addresses together, but the ISP doesn't own all, or even most, of the computers on its network.

Please do not assume the people named in this report are the ones who are responsible for the alert you saw. However, if you are getting repeated alerts from IP addresses in the same IP block, this is a good place to find out who administers the network. If you have identified malicious or highly suspicious activity and have ruled out configuration errors, bugs, and other benign causes, you may wish to contact a network administrator to notify him or her.

Abovenet Communications, Inc. (NETBLK-ABOVENET-5)
50 W. San Fernando St., Suite 1010
San Jose, CA 95113
US

Netname: ABOVENET-5
Netblock: 216.200.0.0 - 216.200.255.255
Maintainer: ABVE

Coordinator:
Metromedia Fiber Networks/AboveNet (NOC41-ORG-ARIN) noc@ABOVE.NET
408-367-6666
Fax- 408-367-6688

Domain System inverse mapping provided by:

NS.ABOVE.NET 207.126.96.162
NS3.ABOVE.NET 207.126.105.146

ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE

Record last updated on 27-Apr-2001.
Database last updated on 8-Jun-2001 22:56:16 EDT.

The ARIN Registration Services Host contains ONLY Internet
Network Information: Networks, ASN's, and related POC's.
Please use the whois server at rs.internic.net for DOMAIN related
Information and whois.nic.mil for NIPRNET Information.

EvilAjax
06-09-01, 06:08 AM
Also this.
The Program The Other Computer
Program Name: Unknown Process: -449983 (Find Error) IP Address: 216.200.194.21
File Name: Unknown Process: -449983 (Find Error) Port: 0
Program Details Future Feature Host Name: Who is this?