PDA

View Full Version : @home emailed me this what does it mean in english?


Leprocy
04-01-01, 09:26 PM
Yes i wanted to know exactly what this means?
Got it in my email from @home.

> We're sending this message to you in response to a complaint,
> substantiated with logs, showing a system breach from your @Home account
> to a computer system you have no reasonable expectation of having
> permission to access. This behavior is in violation of the @Home
> Acceptable Use Policy and any future report of this activity can result in
> termination of your @Home services.
>
> If you are unaware of how this activity occurred, our suggestion is that
> you speak with any other person who has had access to your machine in
> recent history, to make sure that they have not conducted these scans. A
> further suggestion is that you obtain the most recent version of your
> choice of virus protection software and scan your system to make sure that
> there are no trojan viruses or other software that may be allowing others
> access to your system without your knowledge. It is also our
> recommendation that you then have a knowledgeable computer user verify
> that your machine is configured securely.
>
> As stated in the @Home Network Acceptable Use Policy
> (http://www.home.com/aup), the security of each subscriber's machine, and
> all activity which occurs from said machine, are the responsibility of
> each individual subscriber. New reports of this activity can result in
> further action being taken against your account, up to, and including
> termination.
>
> If you would like further information about the @Home AUP, it is posted at
> http://www.home.net/aup. The relevant section is quoted below. We will
> also mail you a hard copy of this communication. Thank you for your
> cooperation.
>
> The @Home Network AUP Management Team
>
> Security
>
> The Services may not be used to breach the security of another user or to
> attempt to gain access to any other person's computer, software or data,
> without the knowledge and consent of such person. They also may not be
> used in any attempt to circumvent the user authentication or security of
> any host, network, or account. This includes, but is not limited to,
> accessing data not intended for you, logging into or making use of a
> server or account you are not expressly authorized to access, or probing
> the security of other networks. Use or distribution of tools designed for
> compromising security, such as password guessing programs, cracking tools,
> packet sniffers or network probing tools, is prohibited.
>
>
>
>

tekelberry
04-01-01, 09:29 PM
It means you were trying to hack and/or hacked into someones computer. And there warning you and the next time their gonna termninate your service.

Kip Patterson
04-01-01, 09:32 PM
It means that your computer was used in a hacking attempt. If you did not do it, then you likely have a virus or trojan running on your machine.

ISP's are required by law to take action against hackers these days, and there are significant consequences if they fail to do so. In short, they will hang you up in a second if it happens again, so best figure out what you did/what was done and make sure it doesn't happen again.

Kip Patterson

Leprocy
04-01-01, 09:54 PM
I did not hack nobody. Could this be something to do with ftps?
Okay will check for viruses.

[ 04-01-2001: Message edited by: leprocy ]

Kip Patterson
04-01-01, 10:00 PM
If you are sure you did not do anything, then you might go back to them in writing by certified mail and ask them to furnish the details of their complaint, dates, times, etc.

Kip Patterson

iceman3233
04-02-01, 02:09 AM
Wow I am susprised @home took action. They said scan? Like as in port scan? That isnt hacking. Anyways I remember the days when everyone on your node who had file sharing enabled you could see their hard drives lol :D If thats hacking, then call me a l33t hax0r!

Jim
04-02-01, 02:20 AM
Well, the courts have said that port scanning is LEGAL, although I forgot which case they were referring to. Anyone help me on that one?

KSJNX
04-02-01, 02:22 AM
if they try to terminate you because you scanned someone god knows what they will do if you send e-mail : )

Dakota
04-02-01, 10:34 AM
I'd be interested in seeing the header to this email with April Fool's day and all....This line kinda gives it away for me: "It is also our recommendation that you then have a knowledgeable computer user verify that your machine is configured securely."

A knowledgeable computer user??? Come on now! I'd think they would have said, "Technician" or some other term....This whole thing just looks fishy to me.

Leprocy
04-02-01, 04:53 PM
hmm could be. But i know i didn't haxors nobody.
Well whatever me no do nothing but look at porn etc. Me cave man with no l33t skillz.
Here be the headers i think
Return-Path:
<abuse-team@corp.home.net>
Received:
from mh6-sfba.mail.home.com ([24.0.95.235]) by femail13.sdc1.sfba.home.com (InterMail vM.4.01.03.20
201-229-121-120-20010223) with ESMTP id
<20010330161845.WIQZ14080.femail13.sdc1.sfba.home.com@mh6-sfba.mail.home.com>; Fri, 30 Mar 2001 08:18:45 -0800
Received:
from mx6-sfba.mail.home.com (mx6-sfba.mail.home.com [24.0.95.231]) by mh6-sfba.mail.home.com (8.9.3/8.9.0) with ESMTP id
IAA11606; Fri, 30 Mar 2001 08:18:44 -0800 (PST)
Received:
from home-hq.svr.home.net (home-hq.svr.home.net [24.0.26.161]) by mx6-sfba.mail.home.com (8.11.1/8.11.1) with ESMTP id
f2UGIgE26981; Fri, 30 Mar 2001 08:18:42 -0800 (PST)
Received:
by home-hq.svr.home.net with Internet Mail Service (5.5.2650.21) id <HC7NWL6S>; Fri, 30 Mar 2001 08:18:41 -0800
Subject:
@Home Network AUP Violation - System breach


[ 04-02-2001: Message edited by: leprocy ]

g-c0de
04-02-01, 05:29 PM
if he was a hacker he would have not been caught, because everyone knows that you dont use your own box to hack or scan a person's computer. Unless he is a script kiddie

Leprocy
04-02-01, 05:41 PM
Originally posted by G-C0DE:
if he was a hacker he would have not been caught, because everyone knows that you dont use your own box to hack or scan a person's computer. Unless he is a script kiddie
You're right if i was a hacker i wouldn't be telling you this. I'm not a kiddie either. Well I use to be when i was 5.

I have no knowledge of the black art. All I know is that Micheal Jackson's nose is really small.

g-c0de
04-02-01, 06:00 PM
if you know you didnt do it, then don't worry about it bro

Storm90
04-02-01, 10:28 PM
Are you running any kind of FTP servers. If so this could be the problem. Or someone is just pulling a joke on you. Either way call your provider and find out what is going on.

Dakota
04-02-01, 11:51 PM
Weird. I'd definitely be making some phone calls...Header looks legit. I'd check for trojans with something like The Cleaner and definitely install Zone Alarm.

JamieLee2k
04-03-01, 01:01 PM
yeah man maybe they have there wires crossed and it should be for someone else, You should ring @home and ask them what the problem. In the mean time I recommed getting a security program as someone maybe using your computer. I can't see an FTP server grassing you up to @home. Maybe you have been somewhere you shouldn't have been, But either way find out for sure ring @home man!!!!!

Leprocy
04-03-01, 08:19 PM
Hmm me finds a trojan. Doh is me. This is what i get for downloading stuff without scanning it.
I forget that my virus program doesn't detect all. Must use trojans detectors.
Thanks for reminding me of trojan cleaner.

Man Now I feel like an idiot. Hey could of been worse.


The Trojan was called FakeFtp.


Fakeftp
Fake ftp is a basic trojan , it installs an ftp server on the victims computer , if you don't know what a ftp server is , it's a file transfer server allowing the hacker access to the victims files where the hacker can doiwnload , upload delete etc .
Another interesting thing about this trojan is it isnt the uasal executable type of file ( .exe ) but instead it comes in a made up file format called .tww . The trojan will make windows treat this as a executable and infect the victim . This trojan will run on windows 95/98 and also windows NT

Hmm weird i didn't notice anything deleted or new. Maybe it's been their for a long time. Hmm or maybe i downloaded it but when he tried to access it zonealarmed blocked him or something. Doesn't seem to fit what they said happened.

[ 04-03-2001: Message edited by: leprocy ]

Arcadian
04-04-01, 12:38 AM
whew.. I know this is harsh, but maybe they got you for overuse of double negatives.

lojow
04-04-01, 04:23 PM
What probably happened is that a hacker took advantage of your comprimised system and used it as a proxy for his/her attacks

neo86
04-06-01, 10:36 PM
masquerade this ya punk haxor!!!!!!!!!! :) sounds like somebody did a little linux ip masqueradin'