SpyWare at SG? [Archive] - SpeedGuide.net Broadband Community

View Full Version : SpyWare at SG?


CiscoKid
09-18-03, 01:00 PM
Past couple days I've been getting notification from SpyBot about AvenueA Inc or something like that trying to download from SG.

Philip
09-18-03, 03:49 PM
Nothing I'm aware of... Unless SpyBot is complaining about ad cookies ?

I'd need to know the URL of the ad (or image) showing without clicking through whenever you get such a message in order to track it down (if it's from SG).

CiscoKid
09-19-03, 05:33 PM
it's a flash ad, SpyBot asks if I want the cookie. the url it takes me to is:

http://www.vonage.com/?CMP=BA19515

Philip
09-19-03, 06:23 PM
Some of the ads/agencies we use to support the site do use cookies, you can chose to block them, or subscribe for a premium membership and avoid ads all together.

I'll research that particular one, thanks for letting me know. Keep in mind most cookies are not necessarily spyware, SG uses cookies to keep you logged in for example as well.